User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Contact time

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    119
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Contact time

    Is there like a rule in badminton which says how long the shuttle can be in contact with the racquet for? I was just thinking cause you could just catch shuttle on racquet and put it over the net...

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Essex, England
    Posts
    1,223
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hi,

    I feel that the shuttle has to be hit with one swoop (this includes the rim). I feel if the shuttle become attached to the strings in the contect you can 'throw' the racquet over the net to win the point is not allowd. I think the rule is in them certain cirumstances it is to be a let and the point is played again. But one question, why play with a shuttle this is in such a bad condition that it gets caught to the stings anyway? Shuttles are changed very reguarly and therefore there is a slim chance of this happening.

    Matt

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    119
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I meant catch as in when some1 brings the racquet down with the shuttle and the shuttle ends up resting on the racquet cheating I know but it is kinda still one movement
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Santa Clara, CA
    Posts
    1,263
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default held shuttle

    i don't know of any time restriction for a held shuttle, but the situation is covered by Law 13.6.1 which states:

    It is a 'fault'... if, in play, the shuttle... is caught and held on the racket and then slung during the execution of a stroke

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Basement Boiler Room
    Posts
    22,118
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    however, the final say is still with the umpire.
    most slunged shots are not cut and dry.

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Outside the box
    Posts
    13,180
    Mentioned
    33 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    When looking at this rule, the rule does not say 'caught OR slung'. It says 'caught AND slung'

    Therefore a shuttle which slides across the racquet during a stroke(which some regard as a sling shot) would be quite legal. Many people might regard this as a fault but I don't think so.

    The rule seems to be there to stop people catching the shuttle with a racquet, walking up to the net, and then slinging the shuttle to the ground on the opponent's side.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Santa Clara, CA
    Posts
    1,263
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    i'd agree with you Cheung. a shuttle that slides across the racket face shouldn't be considered illegal unless it experiences a directional change that is due to a discontinuity of the racket motion. i'm using 'discontinuity' in the mathematical sense (as in a discontinuous function).

    when a shuttle (or ball in tennis), slides across the strings & then hits the frame, it is perceived as a double-hit. i believe that THIS type of double is a legal hit in both sports.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    110
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    evil idea's

    it's just a feeling, what you are allowed to and not
    i had 1 time in a sort of cross drop the shuttle stay on my racket and after a time fly further (just 0,8sec or something) and that can, but don't take the shuttle on your racket run to the net and drop it

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    13
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I have had experiences of this too. Has anyone got an idea what the rules say about scooping the shuttle from the ground? Often I play shots where my racket hits the ground cos I am forced to take it so late. But is it ok to play the shuttle if it did not touch the ground but your racket does whilst playing the shot? I hope you understand what I mean its hard to explain.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Essex, England
    Posts
    1,223
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hi,

    Yup, this stroke or shot is fine. Aslong as the shuttle doesn't touch the grund, then if your playing a defensive shot adn the racket hits the ground, this is perfectly legal.

    Matt

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    : 01-29-2011, 09:03 PM
  2. Full time/Part time badminton gear agent wanted
    By HappyTA5 in forum Market Place
    Replies: 4
    : 04-03-2008, 10:45 PM
  3. can i know what time(singapore time) is the final start?
    By love2000 in forum Asian Games 2006 - Badminton
    Replies: 13
    : 12-09-2006, 08:17 AM
  4. will graphite racket become more brittle from time to time
    By red00ecstrat in forum Badminton Rackets / Equipment
    Replies: 11
    : 11-28-2005, 01:26 AM
  5. Replies: 10
    : 11-11-2003, 02:55 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •