Physics Coursework

Discussion in 'Badminton String' started by GreysGirl, Sep 16, 2008.

1. GreysGirl

GreysGirl New Member

Student
    Ok
    Hey I am an A-Level physics student who plays badminton :p
    My coursework is on Badminton :)
    My aim is to find the optimum string tension for maximum rebound velocity.
    I need also to know the best level of tension in strings Since I've never had my racket restrung cos it's never broken and I don't know that :)
    I'd really appreciate any insight you guys have on whether more tension is bad or good. What your 'favourite' tensions are.
    Also is it good to have a high rebound velocity?
    I'm sorry I've been playing a while but not well :)
    Hopefully you guys can help!
    I'd appreciate it!
    Thanks!
    GreysGirl

2. silentheart

silentheart Regular Member

Dear GreysGirl,
    1) Welcome to BCBF.
    2) What is an A-Level physics student? Are you a college or university student?
    3) There are too many factors to consider. I would almost consider this as a loaded question.
    4) Every one has their own favorit string base on their need. Everyone's need are different.
    Please be more specific on the given factors. For example, a string player swing fast (or weak player swing slow). A racquet with stiff shaft (or flexible shaft). A head heavy (or a head light racquet) What type of shots (smash, clear, net drop or long drop.)

Good luck

3. Sevex

Sevex Regular Member

Academia, CFD/ wind engineering
    Hey, A level is what uk students do between 16-18. There are an awful lot of variables to consider here. If I were you I'd choose 1 type of string for a start. Then you'd need a lot of the same racket at different tensions. Then you'd need a decent stringer who can string all of them. This project could become very expensive very quickly just to warn you if you were to do it properly. Or you could use only one racket and collect one set of data then restring, I guess that would be cheaper :p