HELP: whichs clamps to buy

Discussion in 'Badminton Stringing Techniques & Tools' started by martin8768, Oct 9, 2008.

1. martin8768

martin8768 New Member

sudent
    hey guys i just got a new 2008 Silent Partner CRUMP
    here is a link to the retail page http://sptennis.com/stringer.asp#CRUMP
    and a link to my flickr for detailed photos http://www.flickr.com/photos/martin8768/sets/72157607577123360/

okay so here is my question:

Should i get badminton swivel clamps or floating clamps? and which ones?

I have looked at the Hi-qua/MSB floating clamps and here good things about them. one pair is 40$ thats great (free shipping too and i have to make a order their anyways) and eagnas PN-1013 clamps on. if their is any other option out their please let me know.

price is a huge factor, im a student and i cant spend a lot on stuff. and i will be stringing from 19 to 26lbs

2. Optiblue

Optiblue Regular Member

I just show up
    It all comes down to price/speed/preference. Fixed clamps will cost more but are supposed to be faster. Some people find that stringing with flying clamps is faster and the tensions come out better. The Yonex flying clamps are in my opinion, the best badminton flying clamp out there mainly for two reasons:

1) One of the tighest flying clamps
    2) The edge is pointy, you can actualy fit two clamps into one square to minimize distance between back to back clamping.

A lot of people actually get 2 HQ and 2 Yonex flying clamps for badminton stringing if they don't want to go down the fixed clamps road. If you're going 26lbs, I suggest that you get at least 4 flying clamps if you choose not to go fixed clamps.

Here's a thread on the Yonex Flying ones for reference.
    http://badmintoncentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=56621&page=3

3. Mark A

Mark A Regular Member