Overhead Clears and Anything in the Back

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by tonten, Jun 28, 2002.

1. tonten

tonten Regular Member

Student
    I have no idea what level I am at, but I have been playing badminton for 5 years. The first 3 years wasn't much. During the first 3 years, I would probably go to community centers once a month to play and rally a couple of times in my friend's backyard. It's only during the last 2 years that I have serious started to play badminton. I started going to community centers to play at least once a week.

When I first started, it was all about smashes. The first thing all the new players in my area try to learn is smash. I did the smash pretty well as it was pretty fast, sharp, and angled. It was very hard to block them. I could do overhead clears too, but I would tire out after a couple of minutes of all clears.

The reason why I got tired? I got a professional coach to watch me and he told me I was holding the racket wrong, and I was using ALL arm. So he taught me the "Forefinger and Thumb (Handshake)" grip a year ago and to swing my wrist as if I was turning a doorknob. Ever since I have started to learn this grip and wrist swing, I have lost all my power and cannot hit as hard as I used to anymore.

For the past year, I have, in my opinion, "fluked alot of shots". My overhead clears are not constant, and all the smashes, drops, and clears I try to do from beyond the mid court is horrible, bad angled, and slow. Thus, I think my problem right now is I do not know how to swing the racket probably, or maybe I am confused everytime I See the birdy lopped so high up in the back. (Because I can smash well, drop well, and do almost anything well when I am on mid court or attacking at the net).