User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Chester
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Is a let played when the shuttle hits the top of the net on serve?

    Hi

    I'm new to badminton and need a little advice on service rules please?

    As the title says, is a let played when the shuttle hits the top of the net on serve?

    If the shuttle hits the net and then lands in the receivers court is it legal or would a let be played?

    Also, if the shuttle hits the top of the net on serve and then lands short of the reveivers court, would this be a let or would this be a fault and the receiver would gain the point?

    Many thanks in advance for any advice

    Cheers

    Twaddy

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Newcastle Upon Tyne,UK
    Posts
    262
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    No let is played you win the point (server)

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London area, UK
    Posts
    3,949
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    No let in either case.

    If it lands in, the server wins. If it lands out, the server loses.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Chester
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks for your answers guys

  5. #5
    Regular Member jhirata's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington, New Zealand, New Z
    Posts
    2,488
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Unlike table tennis, no let 'net' will be played.

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    ONTARIO,CANADA
    Posts
    503
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    whats the rule on the feather getting stuck on the top during a serve? let? i forget rarely happens

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    manila
    Posts
    1,117
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by martin8768 View Post
    whats the rule on the feather getting stuck on the top during a serve? let? i forget rarely happens
    no let here. the point goes to your opponent. first of all, the shuttle getting stuck on the net means that the shuttle have not gone over the net. besides, this rarely happens as the cork of the shuttle could not fit in the spaces ... unless you have a big whole in it.

  8. #8
    Moderator drifit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Selangor, Malaysia
    Posts
    6,428
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gollum View Post
    No let in either case.

    If it lands in, the server wins. If it lands out, the server loses.
    Quote Originally Posted by martin8768 View Post
    whats the rule on the feather getting stuck on the top during a serve? let? i forget rarely happens
    Quote Originally Posted by venkatesh View Post
    no let here. the point goes to your opponent. first of all, the shuttle getting stuck on the net means that the shuttle have not gone over the net. besides, this rarely happens as the cork of the shuttle could not fit in the spaces ... unless you have a big whole in it.
    Gollum has explain it simple and accurate.

    stuck means the shuttle isnt over the net.... what let?
    goes under the white tape/under net.... what let?
    can i smash under or stuck, can call it a let...?

    keep on practicing serve over the net and touch a bit and land in. this is very very good serve, receiver will have trouble to return .....

Similar Threads

  1. Japan's Kawamae Hits World's Fastest Shuttle
    By ThePlayer in forum General Forum
    Replies: 4
    : 10-10-2009, 04:37 AM
  2. Where do you hold the shuttle when you serve?
    By Danstevens in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 13
    : 11-10-2008, 09:51 PM
  3. How to hold the shuttle for BH low serve?
    By Mathieu in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 2
    : 05-28-2007, 05:46 PM
  4. If the serve hits the net.....
    By Quan in forum General Forum
    Replies: 11
    : 04-02-2001, 08:18 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •