Racquet for an ex-tennis player

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by bbulla, Oct 28, 2008.

1. bbulla

bbulla Regular Member

Hi,

I just started playing badminton after playing tennis/squash for many years. What sort of racquet would anyone recommend? I am currently using an old Rucanor all graphite racquet. I am mostly playing doubles, but would like to use the same racquet for singles. Smashing is probably my weak point, and my volleys (if that is what they are called in badminton....short shots over the net) are my best.

Thanks!

2. kimir

kimir Regular Member

hi bbulla, did u go through any badminton training course? from my personal experience, i had to 'brainwash' myself and refrain from using tennis strokes when i play badminton.

3. illusionistpro

illusionistpro Regular Member

Get the heaviest racket you can wield since you are an extennis player. Woven 7, woven 11, ti10, mp99, mp100, amp88, 90, 95 just to name a few. Later on you can go down in weight, but its a little harder to go up sometimes.

4. cooler

cooler Regular Member

Surfing, reading fan mails:D, Dilithium Crystal hu
    in this forum, we have a term for that kind of shot, we call it 'dinking':) We even have an inhouse dinker expert;)

since u likely got a strong arm, i suggest something head or slight head heavy.

#4 cooler, Oct 28, 2008
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2008
  5. bbulla

bbulla Regular Member

Thanks for the advice. I thought that a heavier, slightly head-heavy racquet would help my smash, just as it would in tennis. I guess all the principles are basically the same.

I haven't heard of Woven before, and I think the shop I deal with will only have the more 'popular' names (ie. Yonex, Wilson, Head, Prince), but I will see what I can find.

Is there a good on-line store anyone can recommend??

6. Oldhand

Oldhand Moderator

Broadcast Systems Integration
    We have quite a few members here who play both tennis and badminton.