left hand or right hand problem

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by ultraman69, Oct 28, 2008.

1. ultraman69

ultraman69 Regular Member

hi all...I've been playing badminton for more then 10 years....within these few year I've realize i don't have much power coming out of my left arm...i'm not a real left hand person, i do some stuff with my left arm like eat and play badminton but i throw a ball and write with my right arm. i find that i ahve more power coming from my right arm, do yo guys think i should considering switching..........i've try playing with my right arm many times but it does not feel comfortable at all, i know i have a harder and faster smash but everything else is downhill. my left arm can control drops and other soft shots, but is lacking power..... please give me some tips or opion.....thanx

2. drifit

drifit newbie

PM
    use right hand for smash, clear and other power strokes
    use left hand for drop, counter-drop, clear and other delicate strokes
    :D:D:D

ok, joke aside.
    is much depending on yourself. prefer right-hand, learn and practice more on your dropshot etc....
    if your prefer left-hand, practice more on smash etc......

3. ultraman69

hahaha you know what i used to do that back when i was in school....i would switch hand to smash ahhahaha.....guess it worked for awhile until i played better players... didn't have much time in between to switch hand..........well i like to play with my left hand it feels more comfortable but i like to have a harder and faster smash.........got any tips???

4. micae

micae Regular Member

Student
    A few day ago i came across a player that switched hand during rallies. Could clear as well with right hand or left hand. She was an intermediate player and would switch hand only from the baseline when receiving a clear to avoid doing a backhand or over-the-head shot, and also to smash. Left or right was about the same power and accuracy. Quite impressive!!