Feather Shuttles for Beginners' Recreational Use

Discussion in 'Shuttlecock' started by victor1990, Nov 11, 2008.

1. victor1990

victor1990 Regular Member

Student
    I've been advised by a partner who I had an Intra-Mural League match at our Uni with last week that the nylon synthetic shuttles I have are "too fast" and he says that I should switch to feather shuttles, but the thing is I have only used feather shuttles once and thought I didn't play very well with them.

I bought a pack of 3 Carlton T800 Blue Premium Nylon Shuttlecocks at JJB Sports and I know that feather shuttles in this country can cost a lot of mkoney.

Can somebody recommend to be a cheap pack of feather shuttlecocks that will be suitable for my standard -I am a beginner, who at the moment plays more for recreation and to compete ?

2. hhwoot

hhwoot Regular Member

Graduate Student
    I suggest checking out www.mybadmintonstore.com. The page I linked has a few brands for ~$11 (USD) per individual tube. You can buy 10 tubes to save more, but I would recommend starting with one tube at the medium speed to try out (testing both the brand and how well you play with a certain shuttle speed).

Of course, you have to remember that feathers fall apart more quickly than plastics (especially cheaper shuttles, most of the time). So don't throw away your plastic shuttles yet!

3. .Vince

.Vince Regular Member

In and around Kent, I honestly don't know of any cheap but relatively good feathers :|
    But with that said, if your gonna continue badminton for a long time in the near future, you might aswell get someone/ buy yourself lots of feathers elsewhere, but in bulk so u save alot of money.

4. chowzer

chowzer Regular Member