Results 18 to 34 of 39
Thread: Illegal Receiving
11-17-2003, 07:25 PM #18
Your partner can stand anywhere on the court that is not obstructing the view or play of the service or the server.
I believe they can't stand off the court because I think you're technically not allowed to leave the court without the umpires consent. Not sure about that one though because I've seen players run off the court to switch racquets in mid-rally .
11-18-2003, 02:19 AM #19
In the part of the Laws that is Recommendations to Court Officials
3. Recommendations to Umpires
3.9 Ensure that players do not leave the court without the umpire's permission. However, change of a racket at courtside during a rally is permitted.
If only parts of both feet are required, then players can etch forward a few inches legally so long as their heels touch the line?
If the heel is inside the service court, the toes could overhang the line. And if you were right at the back of the service court, your toes could be in the court but your heel could overhang the line.
Not particularly advisable, but legal, I think.
11-18-2003, 03:33 AM #20
Originally posted by kwun
yes. "planted" was a little bit strong, but hey, i thought that would emphasize my point.
Remember, some "part" of BOTH "feet" MUST remain in "contact" with the court surface in a "STATIONARY' position. Just don't move your legs and body too much that you move your feet too!
11-18-2003, 03:40 AM #21
Originally posted by bigredlemon
I always thought both feet has to be completely inside the service area? If only parts of both feet are required, then players can etch forward a few inches legally so long as their heels touch the line?
11-18-2003, 03:43 AM #22
Originally posted by Winex West Can
Anywhere within the court (and probably off the court too).
10-21-2004, 10:37 AM #23
Hi! I haven't been around here for 1-2 years now I think. I haven't been playing as much badminton lately, as alot has happened in my life.
Anyways, I have a question and I was wondering if anyone can help me. Instead of creating a new thread, I decided to bring back an old thread instead so as not to waste forum space.
Recently, I was watching a game at a highschool where the matches are supposed to follow the official world badminton rules. (I seem to can't find the lawbook, or else I would be looking it up myself. The link in this thread that links to the lawbook is dead)
One of the players served. She swung the racket, but she never came in contact with the bird (Basically she missed)! Does she get a reserve or is it a fault?
I had always learned that if you served and u missed the bird without touching it, you'd get 1 reserve. I've always followed that rule, but now that I think of it, it might have been a courtesy rule I have picked up on the courts in the past 5 years I have been playing, and not an official rule.
Can anyone confirm if this is an official rule in the rulebook or just something I picked up?
10-21-2004, 10:54 AM #24
Originally Posted by tonten
It varies between sports
In golf, if you swing and miss the ball , it counts as a stroke.
In tennis, if you miss the ball on a serve, I think it is not a fault and you can serve again.
10-21-2004, 11:13 AM #25
in tennis, u'll get a 2nd chance to serve if u toss the ball up and failed to contact it at all. its counted as a let i believe.
not so sure about in badminton though
10-21-2004, 07:51 PM #26
One of the players served. She swung the racket, but she never came in contact with the bird (Basically she missed)! Does she get a reserve or is it a fault? QUOTE]
It is a fault and you can find the answer under the Laws of Badminton, Law 9.3, which says:
It is a 'fault' if the server, in attempting to serve, misses the shuttle.
You can download the Laws of Badminton from the IBF website:
Click on the "Rules & Laws" on the left and choose the subject 'Laws of Badminton'.
I always carry a copy of the Laws during my badminton sessions for easy reference and to help settle disputes.
10-21-2004, 09:32 PM #27
Originally Posted by timeless
10-21-2004, 10:01 PM #28
Originally Posted by Woven
Another example is that of a player who suffered an injury (it could be just an ankle sprain or something more serious) during a rally. He can't request the umpire to stop the rally and replay the point after he has recovered or attended to. Remember, some unsporting players can feign injury too, just to disrupt the rally and his opponent's rhythm. If the injured player can't continue, he will have to concede a walkover to his opponent.
10-22-2004, 06:05 PM #29
Ummm im wondering, if im playing with Nylon birds and the Cork Pops off during play, is it a reserve or where ever the birdie lands at?
02-22-2006, 02:26 PM #30
can someone answer this question?
02-22-2006, 03:35 PM #31
it is a let if, during play, the shuttle disintegrates and the base completely separates from the rest of the shuttle
02-22-2006, 05:11 PM #32
*fine* manual ... FINE.
02-22-2006, 06:20 PM #33
Originally Posted by wood_22_chuck
02-22-2006, 09:24 PM #34
Originally Posted by kwun
By bigying in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 14: 01-04-2011, 05:28 AM
By theasiandude88 in forum Badminton Tournament Video SharingReplies: 27: 07-02-2006, 03:37 PM
By mndtrcks in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 17: 04-13-2005, 05:18 PM
By silentlight in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 8: 03-18-2005, 12:39 AM
By Tux in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 9: 12-29-2000, 10:42 PM