Teaching Badminton

Discussion in 'Coaching Forum' started by wedgewenis, Jul 28, 2002.

1. wedgewenis

wedgewenis Regular Member

i've been teaching tennis for a few years now at the begginner-intermediate level

the funny thing is that i would much prefer to teach badminton and i feel i know more about badminton than tennis ..but i haven't had any formal training on teaching badminton

what do u guys think should be taught to beginners

obviously how to hold the raquet, swing etc.

the problem i find w/teaching things like this is that students usually just want to hit the shuttle/ball..they dont want to do the nesseccary things needed to learn proper technique quicky.. like practice footwork or the swing, etc.

and also when teaching badminton its easy to teach someone one on one becuase at least all my shots are proper feeds..but if i tell 2 students to do clearing drills w/eachother, neither one will hit a proper clear feed to the other.. (not in all cases tho)

any advice would be appreciated thanks

2. boyboy

boyboy Regular Member

Student
    well... most important, the right footworks!!! then... proper technics.... as in proper way of clears, attacking clears, drops and stuff. accuracy and try to improve their stamina.

well.... teaching kids is allot harder coz they're not serious... they just want to hit shuttles.... as for those who really want to train... u'll be suprise how hard they try.

still.... you need to have the right way of teaching. the correct technics.... the correct footworks.. and maybe u need to show some shots as well... "nicely done" demos.

My point of view is Good players may not be good coaches, and god coaches are not always good players.....

;)

3. gerry

gerry Regular Member

Are you coaching juniors or adults ?

FirstlyI must say the best thing would be to go on a leaders/instructor/coach's course, this will help you enormously to identify setting up a programme and can help you not to teach any bad habits that you may have.