User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Service fault question

    I've just watched the Indonesian Open's mixed double final between Chinese Zheng/Ma VS Korean Lee/Lee. In one occasion when Zheng served the shuttle high to Lee HJ, the shuttle after flying past the net was obviously flying outside the reception's court area. I think Lee intercepted the shuttle where the point of contact was IMO outside her court area. Zheng's serve was immediately called fault by the umpire. I wonder what went wrong. Unfortunately no explanation from the TV commentator. So can anyone verify that a serve has to fly within the intended reception court area even in mid air as soon as it passes the opponent's front service line? In other words, the serve cannot come in from out of bound. I have actually observed such occasion several times in doubles' games, but checking with the official badminton rules come to avail. I had played a casual double game where one player loves to serve near the side of his court and serve the shuttle flying past his opposite court area before landing in his diagonally opposite court area. This service style rendering the reception in a very awkward situation. When I tried to tell him the serve is illegal, he said the rules didn't say that!

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Sverige
    Posts
    182
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    i havent seen the match but they maybe moved before the shuttle was hit?

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by darkwingduck View Post
    i havent seen the match but they maybe moved before the shuttle was hit?
    Quite unlikely because the fault was called on the service side. Usually the move before serve fault is committed by the receiving side.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Durham, NC
    Posts
    38
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    What you described in the first post is not illegal. Most likely, her racket was just above her waist or was not angled in a downward direction.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    405
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by space-shuttler View Post
    So can anyone verify that a serve has to fly within the intended reception court area even in mid air as soon as it passes the opponent's front service line? In other words, the serve cannot come in from out of bound.
    Not true. The service can fly in any direction, as long as it eventually hits the ground inside the service area.

    Quote Originally Posted by space-shuttler View Post
    I had played a casual double game where one player loves to serve near the side of his court and serve the shuttle flying past his opposite court area before landing in his diagonally opposite court area. This service style rendering the reception in a very awkward situation. When I tried to tell him the serve is illegal, he said the rules didn't say that!
    No, it's a legal serve. You won't see it in high level games because it leaves a serious weakness--if you can manage to return it with a drop shot down the line, then there's noone there to cover that part of the court. It's annoying if you haven't seen that sort of serve before. But you just have to get used to it, and learn to return it well enough that he decides not to serve that way in the future!

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks for your verification. Seems like I just have to cope with these shrewd players!

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London area, UK
    Posts
    3,879
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by space-shuttler View Post
    I had played a casual double game where one player loves to serve near the side of his court and serve the shuttle flying past his opposite court area before landing in his diagonally opposite court area. This service style rendering the reception in a very awkward situation. When I tried to tell him the serve is illegal, he said the rules didn't say that!
    He's correct. The serve is not illegal (unless he's violating some other law, such as the shuttle-below-waist rule), but it is tactical suicide if the receiver knows how to deal with it. Yet working out the solution is quite a puzzle!

    You need to adjust your ready position so that you are farther back in the court, with your body more-or-less square-on to the server. You can now smack down his silly drive serve with a round-the-head smash.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    garden grove
    Posts
    415
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    simply just something that the person who served did a mistake when serving. 1. her left hand (if she's righty) moved with the racquet, like a motion of just throwing the bird over.
    2. she did not make 1 serve motion.
    and 3. i don't know the judge just being a hoe, don't know

Similar Threads

  1. Can an umpire call service fault?
    By Andrew in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 5
    : 09-07-2012, 10:40 PM
  2. service fault question
    By sting1988 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 5
    : 04-11-2010, 02:14 AM
  3. Rule question: am i at fault?
    By sikewong in forum General Forum
    Replies: 5
    : 07-08-2006, 04:03 AM
  4. Quick rules question - fault if a shuttle skims the hair?
    By BoboTheBadder in forum General Forum
    Replies: 8
    : 01-17-2005, 09:08 AM
  5. Service Question
    By Dave G in forum General Forum
    Replies: 6
    : 02-23-2002, 05:17 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •