I need advice with new raquet choice.

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by Mathieu, Feb 7, 2009.

1. Mathieu

Mathieu Regular Member

Student
    Hello,
    Im not sure if I will change my raquet soon but I'm starting to ask arround for advice so that I have an idea when the time comes.

First of all, I am a pretty serious player and I play quite often (7hours a week right now but will climb to about 20 hours a week in the summer)

I started playing the game about 3 years ago but I played it very intensly (arround 20 hours a week) so I improved very quickly.

I play alot of all 3 disciplines and I am not a hard smasher (one of the technical points im trying to improve at the moment).

I care about both durability and performance, but im not too worried about durability since I take care of my stuff and Im not a hard hitter so I'm quite easy on my raquets ;).

The price is not a big issue right now, I will figure this out when the time comes (I don't think I need a 300$ raquet but even then, Its a gift I'm getting myself so the price doesnt really matter)

I am currently using an Isometric 65 MF light and I'm enjoying the feel of it. Its quite head light and flexible, but I think I would need something a bit more stiff (and I prefer longer raquets for some reason). I have tried the AT700 and its WAY too head heavy for me. The AT800DE and AT500 were a bit better, but they still felt a bit too head heavy.

So I guess that, according to the yonex standards, I would need a raquet that is between Headlight and very slightly head heavy, medium or stiff, between 2U and 4U, long shaft. I usually play with G3 grips and add an over grip, but G4 with an over grip is fine too. I string my raquets at about 20lbs and play with nylong shuttles (Mavis 350). I'm looking for a raquet that has a big sweet spot (I'm not sure if the sweet spot is about the raquet or the strings/tension thought).