Playing singles well.

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by Whittalboy, Mar 10, 2009.

1. Whittalboy

Whittalboy Regular Member

Hi, I am a guy age of 16 who likes badminton so much.
    Most of time I play doubles game instead of singles since I have played a lot at clubs and drop-ins. my skill level is advanced. I played single game with someone who is about intermediate or I can say someone who is not better than me. I lost, I don't know why, maybe I am just new to single game and new to the strategy. It's really annoying; it's like my tennis. I lose games to people I should not (I'm not good at tennis as much as at badminton but still I lose to people I shouldn't and at intense games, I get nervous and make unforced errors.) When I say "I lost to ___" then, people go "really?" I mean "really" as in "how did you?"
    I'm not trying to brag or anything, I just want to know why find out ways. Well, I can't hit almost any shots with great confidence at tennis but at badminton I can except deep cross-court backhand and cross-court backhand drop-shot. I don't use those shots very often. So, I guess I should say I don't have much confidence of making those shots. However, when my opponent and I rally, I dominate(as in I get better set-up, balanced as in not taking extra steps to take a shot and don't have to put much pressure to hit the bird back well and my opponent make unforced error too, which is a bit embrassing thing to do or maybe not but I think unforced error is terrible thing to make). I know I can beat those guys, their technics are pretty bad. I don't know maybe next time I should just give deep right and left corners since deep corners are still pretty offensive for those opponents who I lost to. and sometimes other variety of shots.

2. AznAndrew

AznAndrew Regular Member