Results 1 to 9 of 9
Thread: Got serving rule question...
03-21-2009, 06:27 PM #1
Got serving rule question...
Hey guys I've recently gone into some minor play in mixed doubles and want to understand some of the rules more closely.
My first question is after the first rally the winning side gets to serve and it goes to the person on the right, right?
Also, another question is who serves when someone gets a point. So when the score is odd it goes to the person on the left and when it's even it goes to the person on the right? And what score are we looking at, like is it looking at the number that "you" have or the totol number of points of your opponents plus yours. I know this is kinda confusing and I hope you guys understand but I really want to know.
And if you serve and it hits the net or goes out of bounds then is it a point for the other team or does it just switch possessions?
And last question, only for serves during a (mixed) doubles match, is the out of bounds the first line or the second line, just for serves.
Please if anyone knows the answers to these questions please explain, thanks!
03-21-2009, 06:55 PM #2
Same person serves when his/her team wins the point.
03-21-2009, 07:16 PM #3
03-21-2009, 07:55 PM #4
^OK, thanks you for taking the time to read everything and answering my questions
03-22-2009, 12:14 AM #5
i forgot to ask whether you play rally scoring or old system. the one i told you was rally scoring. if its old system, its a whole 'nother game.
Last edited by jymbalaya; 03-22-2009 at 12:16 AM. Reason: edit words.
03-22-2009, 04:27 PM #6
I think i'm playing rally scoring since i have graced the surface of it and u able to
comprehend to what i was saying. but how different is the old system, since i'm clueless on what it is again.
03-22-2009, 10:28 PM #7
The service rules are the same with the rally point system, i.e., neither short nor long service is allowed.
If this is confusing for you, better stick to the rally-point system.
03-23-2009, 06:47 PM #8
Yes, I am playing rally point system.
To those who helped me thank you, it is greatly appreciated
03-28-2009, 06:15 PM #9
If you are already serving and you get a point, you continue to serve until you lose a rally, serving from the opposite side after each point.
After losing a rally, which opponent serves is determined by the score, as stated in previous posts.
By kevinboyz in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 2: 12-10-2010, 10:03 AM
By sting1988 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 5: 06-16-2009, 01:14 PM
By Dummey in forum General ForumReplies: 5: 03-16-2007, 01:57 PM
By kwun in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 25: 11-27-2003, 05:19 AM
By Hock in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 6: 02-25-2002, 11:25 AM