User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Got serving rule question...

    Hey guys I've recently gone into some minor play in mixed doubles and want to understand some of the rules more closely.

    My first question is after the first rally the winning side gets to serve and it goes to the person on the right, right?

    Also, another question is who serves when someone gets a point. So when the score is odd it goes to the person on the left and when it's even it goes to the person on the right? And what score are we looking at, like is it looking at the number that "you" have or the totol number of points of your opponents plus yours. I know this is kinda confusing and I hope you guys understand but I really want to know.

    And if you serve and it hits the net or goes out of bounds then is it a point for the other team or does it just switch possessions?

    And last question, only for serves during a (mixed) doubles match, is the out of bounds the first line or the second line, just for serves.

    Please if anyone knows the answers to these questions please explain, thanks!

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    us
    Posts
    185
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Same person serves when his/her team wins the point.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,271
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Raygun26 View Post
    Hey guys I've recently gone into some minor play in mixed doubles and want to understand some of the rules more closely.

    My first question is after the first rally the winning side gets to serve and it goes to the person on the right, right? (nope. the score is odd, so it goes to the person on the left.)

    Also, another question is who serves when someone gets a point. So when the score is odd it goes to the person on the left and when it's even it goes to the person on the right?( exactly. for rally scoring, when you get the serve back, the score determines who serves. if the score is even, right, odd=left.) And what score are we looking at, like is it looking at the number that "you" have or the totol number of points of your opponents plus yours. (just yours)I know this is kinda confusing and I hope you guys understand but I really want to know.

    And if you serve and it hits the net or goes out of bounds then is it a point for the other team or does it just switch possessions? ( if it hits the net, and does not go over, or goes over and does not pass the line, it is the opponents point. if it goes out, opponents point)

    And last question, only for serves during a (mixed) doubles match, is the out of bounds the first line or the second line, just for serves.( same rules as doubles, first line)

    Please if anyone knows the answers to these questions please explain, thanks!
    hope that helped. and check to make sure. I could be wrong.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    ^OK, thanks you for taking the time to read everything and answering my questions

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,271
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    OH SHoot.
    i forgot to ask whether you play rally scoring or old system. the one i told you was rally scoring. if its old system, its a whole 'nother game.
    Last edited by jymbalaya; 03-21-2009 at 11:16 PM. Reason: edit words.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I think i'm playing rally scoring since i have graced the surface of it and u able to
    comprehend to what i was saying
    . but how different is the old system, since i'm clueless on what it is again.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    manila
    Posts
    1,117
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Raygun26 View Post
    I think i'm playing rally scoring since i have graced the surface of it and u able to
    comprehend to what i was saying
    . but how different is the old system, since i'm clueless on what it is again.
    The old system is totally different. You only get to score when its your serve. There are 1st and 2nd servers, except at the very beginning of the game wherein the very first team to serve gets to only serve once, after which, the 2nd server comes to play. There's also a base player (usually the girl in mixed doubles) who's the marker which positions the 2 players should take, i.e., if the score is even, the base player should be on the right, and if odd, the base player should be on the left. During change of service (meaning transfer of service form one team to the other), the 1st server should always be the player on the right.

    The service rules are the same with the rally point system, i.e., neither short nor long service is allowed.


    If this is confusing for you, better stick to the rally-point system.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yes, I am playing rally point system.

    To those who helped me thank you, it is greatly appreciated

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    42
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If you are already serving and you get a point, you continue to serve until you lose a rally, serving from the opposite side after each point.

    After losing a rally, which opponent serves is determined by the score, as stated in previous posts.

Similar Threads

  1. Serving Rule
    By kevinboyz in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 2
    : 12-10-2010, 09:03 AM
  2. serving rule
    By sting1988 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 5
    : 06-16-2009, 12:14 PM
  3. Serving Rule Question
    By Dummey in forum General Forum
    Replies: 5
    : 03-16-2007, 12:57 PM
  4. a serving rule question...
    By kwun in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 25
    : 11-27-2003, 04:19 AM
  5. serving rule
    By Hock in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 6
    : 02-25-2002, 10:25 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •