User Tag List

Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Net fault

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    70
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Net fault

    Is there net fault in badminton? Like in pingpong,when you serve, it hit the net but manage to cross opponent service line. And then reserve if such case happend. Is there such thing as reserve in badminton?

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,767
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    A serve that skims the net but lands past the service line is "in" and you play on.
    There are lots of sources for the rules out there.
    http://www.badminton.ca/page.aspx?id=2089

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    70
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    so that means if it did get across the service line, its a replay?

    thanks for the web. =)

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,645
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    No replay. You ignore that it has hit the net and play as if it hasn't.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    SF bay area
    Posts
    315
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    No. It's 'in'. If the receiver doesn't return it, the server scores.

    Quote Originally Posted by loweechng View Post
    so that means if it did get across the service line, its a replay?

    thanks for the web. =)

  6. #6
    Moderator drifit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Selangor, Malaysia
    Posts
    6,428
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by loweechng View Post
    Is there net fault in badminton? Like in pingpong,when you serve, it hit the net but manage to cross opponent service line. And then reserve if such case happend. Is there such thing as reserve in badminton?
    no, it is not like table-tennis nor tennis. any shot whether is serve or during gameplay that touch net and go over is legal.
    by the way, where do you play using plastic shuttle, i might join

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    70
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hmm but i rmb seeing few times in competition, when they serve the shuttles hit the net, and cross over, and they reserve

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    1,719
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by loweechng View Post
    Hmm but i rmb seeing few times in competition, when they serve the shuttles hit the net, and cross over, and they reserve
    I don't think you would have at a professional level. In friendly games, if you fluke one off the net cord in to a corner or something then some people agree to play a let. Most of the time though, you just get on with it and take or leave the point (depending on whether you hit the fluke service or you attempted to receive it).

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,272
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Regular play continues if the bird hits the net and continues to go onto the other side.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    manila
    Posts
    1,117
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Don't think of lawn tennis or table tennis.

    Think of volleyball.

    If the shuttle hits the net but went past it and past the service line, the game is still in play.

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,645
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    In volleyball, if the serve hits the net, the receiver scores.

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    139
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by weeyeh View Post
    In volleyball, if the serve hits the net, the receiver scores.
    In volleyball, if the serve hits the net and goes over to the opponents' side, it is deemed good and play continues.
    That rule was established in 2000.

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,645
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hellopanda3 View Post
    In volleyball, if the serve hits the net and goes over to the opponents' side, it is deemed good and play continues.
    That rule was established in 2000.
    Aye... shows how old I am. Last I played volleyball must have been 1990.

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    139
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Haha, it's all good.

Similar Threads

  1. Is it fault ?
    By a_tabassum in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 14
    : 03-05-2010, 11:37 AM
  2. is this a fault?
    By li00075 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 12
    : 03-05-2010, 11:30 AM
  3. What fault is it? Receiver fault?
    By pascal123 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 57
    : 01-13-2009, 12:48 AM
  4. Who is at fault?
    By Dendrobius in forum General Forum
    Replies: 34
    : 06-26-2006, 04:08 PM
  5. Is it a fault??????????
    By shanepaul86 in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 9
    : 06-10-2005, 11:31 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •