Results 1 to 8 of 8
03-29-2009, 08:55 AM #1
Just wondering, for all those people out there, is purposely distracting your opponent illegal? For example; I was playing doubles in a tournament, one guy always yelled when I wound up to spike. This threw off my timing. So is this against the rules? Cause its an extremely dirty way of playing either way.
03-29-2009, 09:32 AM #2
I think this one is at the umpire's discretion, they tend to let you/your opponent it if it's out of hand and give a warning. If you're not happy, you can always tell the umpire that you think your opponents are trying to deliberately distract you and that you would like something doing about it.
03-29-2009, 09:34 AM #3
but is it actually a rule not to?
03-29-2009, 02:18 PM #4
03-29-2009, 02:52 PM #5
Players’ Code of Conduct
VVV, it looks like TheBear found the right one.
Last edited by hhwoot; 03-29-2009 at 02:55 PM.
03-29-2009, 02:52 PM #6
13.4.5 It is a fault if, in play, a player deliberately distracts an opponent by any action such as shouting or making gestures
Hope that helps
03-29-2009, 07:07 PM #7
thanks, i wish i had called him on it now....
03-30-2009, 03:05 AM #8
I know exactly what you mean ! I got a copy of the rules from the Badminton England website, printed them off and lobbed them straight into the racquet bag - very useful in matches !