first time posting here.

Discussion in 'General Forum' started by Cepheus, Feb 13, 2001.

1. Cepheus

Cepheus Guest

just found out this site yesterday. anybody from Lexington, KY area?

2. May

May Guest

I am not from there. But I am a newbie too.

3. Mag

Mag Moderator

Graphic Designer
    A warm welcome to both of you!

4. Robbie

Robbie Guest

Welcome! Cepheus, where is the KY area?? (don't want to sound rude or anything KY stands for something else here in UK)

5. Cepheus

Cepheus Guest

Saying hi to May, Mag and Robbie

well, KY stands for Kentucky, :)
    Where are u from?

6. May

May Guest

Hi ppl. Do u guys think I'm irritating? Some forums I go to, they think I'm irritating and I don't know why.

7. Cepheus

Cepheus Guest

do they tell u why?
    :)

I think you are fine, :)

8. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest

May, I think most people find the following types of messages to be somewhat irritating:

- rude, insulting, bragging, prejudiced or childish messages or ones that contain a lot of profanities
    - messages that are too far removed from the overall topic of the forum or irrelevant to the particular discussion thread
    - "me too" messages (ones that don't add anything but merely seem like the author wanted to get in the last word or just wanted to see his/her name on the internet) and messages stating opinions when the author has no actual knowledge of the discussion topic
    - excessive numbers of messages by the same author
    - messages containing very sloppy, lazy or indifferent writing, using too many shortcut words (u instead of you, ur instead of you're, b4 instead of before, etc...), or ones using very poor grammar when the author can do better (obviously there are a lot of non-native English speakers participating in this forum and even though their messages are not perfect, most of them are doing a fine job at trying to communicate here)