User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 17 of 22
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Fresno
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Setting and resetting the service position

    If a server comes set and does not move his or her racquet forward to initiate a serve, may the server reset his or her service position as long as the other team has been given sufficient time to also reset? (like a pitcher coming to a set position and then stepping off the mound)

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    ? ?The Moon? ?
    Posts
    1,087
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hoops View Post
    If a server comes set and does not move his or her racquet forward to initiate a serve, may the server reset his or her service position as long as the other team has been given sufficient time to also reset? (like a pitcher coming to a set position and then stepping off the mound)
    Yep , this is in compliance within the rules

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Fresno
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    kriss, may I ask of your credentials so that I might quote you to other coaches that have questions about this issue?

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    139
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by krisss View Post
    Yep , this is in compliance within the rules
    I agree.
    Hoops, just watch badminton videos. It's been done and is legal.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    ? ?The Moon? ?
    Posts
    1,087
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hoops View Post
    kriss, may I ask of your credentials so that I might quote you to other coaches that have questions about this issue?
    Well I represent my county.

    Being coached by a former international doubles player , and a international singles players.

    I havn't got any official credentials - but I am going to start my coaching courses soon .

    As HelloPanda3 said - if you international games you can see players doing this , and the umpire is warning them - because they are in compliance with the rules.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    139
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by krisss View Post
    As HelloPanda3 said - if you watch international games you can see players doing this , and the umpire is warning them - because they are in compliance with the rules.
    Do you mean "... and the umpire is NOT warning them"
    I was just confused.
    But I'm pretty sure that's what you meant.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    ? ?The Moon? ?
    Posts
    1,087
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hellopanda3 View Post
    Do you mean "... and the umpire is NOT warning them"
    I was just confused.
    But I'm pretty sure that's what you meant.
    Lol yeah .

    I think I may look crazy saying that lol.

    I can't edit it now its been 15 minutes

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    9.2 Once the players are ready for the service, the first forward movement of the server’s racket

    head shall be the start of the service.
    From The Laws of Badminton downloadable from Badminton England website.
    Hope that helps

    (If it helps with your coaching friends, I'm a Junior County coach, BE Level 2, working alongside a national coach and ex-international players)
    Last edited by TheBear; 04-14-2009 at 03:47 PM.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    ? ?The Moon? ?
    Posts
    1,087
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TheBear View Post
    9.2 Once the players are ready for the service, the first forward movement of the serverís racket

    head shall be the start of the service.
    From The Laws of Badminton downloadable from Badminton England website.
    Hope that helps

    (If it helps with your coaching friends, I'm a Junior County coach, BE Level 2, working alongside a national coach and ex-international players)
    mmm The Bear , could you ask the national coach what they write down in international games please?

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    LOL....I saw that thread also !

    I asked him and the players that I am lucky enough to chat to, and they are all remarkably coy about telling me ! I'm told that the advice depends on the player receiving it, what they want etc..
    I struggle to know what to say to my folk at the break - any suggestions?

  11. #11
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Fresno
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I just wanted to thank TeBear and Kriss for your advice. Is there a badminton official that has run across this situation during a match. Is a reset OK?

  12. #12
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Fresno
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I've now heard from players, and I am very thankful for their advice, but I'd now like an official or a coach to answer this question:

    If a server comes set and does not move his or her racquet forward to initiate a serve, may the server reset his or her service position as long as the other team has been given sufficient time to also reset? (like a pitcher coming to a set position and then stepping off the mound)

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Urbana, IL
    Posts
    163
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hoops View Post
    I just wanted to thank TeBear and Kriss for your advice. Is there a badminton official that has run across this situation during a match. Is a reset OK?
    In your opening post, you said "If a server comes set and does not move his or her racquet forward to initiate a serve". Moving the racket forward is the definition given in 9.2 from TheBear's post for "start of the service".

    But if we look at 9.1.1:

    9.1.1 neither side shall cause undue delay to the delivery of the service once the server and the receiver are ready for the service. On completion of the backward movement of serverís racket head, any delay in the start of the service (Law 9.2), shall be considered to be an undue delay;

    The rules mean that moving the racket back and then forward to hit the shuttle must be in one complete motion. Any delay in between moving the racket back and then forward counts as undue delay.

    What we see in international competition are players reset when they have not started the back swing.

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Absolutely right hhwoot.(not that you need me to tell you!)

  15. #15
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Fresno
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    So if a player is in a service set position and has neither moved his/her racquet forward or back, the player may reset his/her service position?

  16. #16
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If you wish to stop the serve, you can do so without fault if you have not initiated the serve by moving your racquet in a manner that may be so construed.
    Or put it another way, yes.
    Personally if I did this I'd apologise immediately.

  17. #17
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Fresno
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    hhwoot and TheBear, are either of you officials or coaches? I appreciate your comments and would like to quote them. It would help a lot if I knew your qualifications. Thanks again.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. setting up a gym?
    By Badmancan in forum USA West
    Replies: 1
    : 10-27-2005, 04:54 PM
  2. Post-service position
    By Wai Shing in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 3
    : 10-19-2004, 08:33 PM
  3. setting to ONE point...
    By Faisal in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 18
    : 11-14-2003, 04:22 AM
  4. Setting...
    By Matt Ross in forum General Forum
    Replies: 3
    : 06-06-2003, 11:11 PM
  5. setting
    By Steve Arnold in forum General Forum
    Replies: 0
    : 11-20-2000, 03:00 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •