User Tag List

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 18 to 22 of 22
  1. #18
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    as per my reply at the top
    Quote Originally Posted by TheBear View Post
    9.2 Once the players are ready for the service, the first forward movement of the server’s racket


    head shall be the start of the service.
    From The Laws of Badminton downloadable from Badminton England website.
    Hope that helps

    (If it helps with your coaching friends, I'm a Junior County coach, BE Level 2, working alongside a national coach and ex-international players)
    Hey, if you pay my airfare I'll tell them myself !!

  2. #19
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Fresno
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    TheBear, if I had the money, you'd be in California right now. Unfortunately, they don't pay high school badminton coaches quite that much. So we'll have to continue our conversations long distance. But thanks for the offer!

  3. #20
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default


    It would be my pleasure

  4. #21
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I am new to this forum and while there are many useful postings I am struck by the number of advices based on "I watch internationals". Internationals are not always playing by the rules. It is their job to push the boundaries. There are therefore usually two questions: is it a fauilt according to the laws of badminton and is it a law that internationals adhere to.

    The rule that covers the scenerio is 9.1.1: "neither side shall cause undue delay to the delivery of the service once the server and the receiver are ready for the service." Assuming that the server has not caused undue delay and the reciver has give an indication that he is ready to receive, resetting by the receiver has got to cause a delay and is therefore a fault. I think that you will find that most internationals do is to hold their hands up to positively indicate that they are not ready to receive. They can therefore take time to set as they wish (again subject to the undue delay rule). Once they put their hands down, they should not reset.

  5. #22
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    In Competition
    Posts
    18,283
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tony2504 View Post
    I am new to this forum and while there are many useful postings I am struck by the number of advices based on "I watch internationals". Internationals are not always playing by the rules. It is their job to push the boundaries. There are therefore usually two questions: is it a fauilt according to the laws of badminton and is it a law that internationals adhere to.

    The rule that covers the scenerio is 9.1.1: "neither side shall cause undue delay to the delivery of the service once the server and the receiver are ready for the service." Assuming that the server has not caused undue delay and the reciver has give an indication that he is ready to receive, resetting by the receiver has got to cause a delay and is therefore a fault. I think that you will find that most internationals do is to hold their hands up to positively indicate that they are not ready to receive. They can therefore take time to set as they wish (again subject to the undue delay rule). Once they put their hands down, they should not reset.
    In competition, either the server or the receiver will attempt (legally, of course) to disrupt the concentration of the other. This is where based on the law, the limits of what is acceptable delay is defined by the umpire on duty.

    Thus, a simple answer would be that to reset the service position is legal so long as the umpire does not feel that in so doing, the server is holding a significant advantage, and that there has been no attempt to play the serve beforehand.

    Similarly, a request for delay in receiving (as in the receiver's raised hand) is legal as long as it is not done at a situation where the server is ready to play a serve. Sometimes it happens that once a receiver is ready, the serve is intentionally delayed further (undue delay on the server side). In which case the receiver would then break from focus and request for another delay to recompose himself, in which case the umpire would then take action (warning) on the server for the delay.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Similar Threads

  1. setting up a gym?
    By Badmancan in forum USA West
    Replies: 1
    : 10-27-2005, 04:54 PM
  2. Post-service position
    By Wai Shing in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 3
    : 10-19-2004, 08:33 PM
  3. setting to ONE point...
    By Faisal in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 18
    : 11-14-2003, 04:22 AM
  4. Setting...
    By Matt Ross in forum General Forum
    Replies: 3
    : 06-06-2003, 11:11 PM
  5. setting
    By Steve Arnold in forum General Forum
    Replies: 0
    : 11-20-2000, 03:00 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •