User Tag List

Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Is this shot legal?

    My friend sent me this video and a player in it played an interesting shot. It looks like a double hit but it was not called or anything. So anyways, is this legal?

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8QlW8...eature=related

    @ 30 seconds.

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    168
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Nope, he only hit it once. Why would you think he hit it twice? He did move his racket maybe feinting a different shot but definitely, hit it once...

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Could be the angle, but when i watch that shot, he hits it from the ground like a net shot, lifts the bird up a little, then does a push/net kill towards the back.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Note: pause it after his first shot, you'll see what i mean

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    ? ?The Moon? ?
    Posts
    1,087
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zqcebtmu View Post
    My friend sent me this video and a player in it played an interesting shot. It looks like a double hit but it was not called or anything. So anyways, is this legal?

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8QlW8...eature=related

    @ 30 seconds.
    It looks illegal too - me he hits it up then smashes it down !!!

    To be exact look at 31 seconds ,( when you said 30 seconds I thought you were talking about the rally before that)

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    ? ?The Moon? ?
    Posts
    1,087
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zqcebtmu View Post
    Could be the angle, but when i watch that shot, he hits it from the ground like a net shot, lifts the bird up a little, then does a push/net kill towards the back.
    Thats exactly what it looks like.

    Thats so wierd ????

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    125
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    maybe you should focus on the opponent hitting the shuttle, to me he is the one lifting it to the net

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    139
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It's legal. Totally legal.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,272
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zqcebtmu View Post
    My friend sent me this video and a player in it played an interesting shot. It looks like a double hit but it was not called or anything. So anyways, is this legal?

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8QlW8...eature=related

    @ 30 seconds.
    Quote Originally Posted by krisss View Post
    It looks illegal too - me he hits it up then smashes it down !!!

    To be exact look at 31 seconds ,( when you said 30 seconds I thought you were talking about the rally before that)
    Quote Originally Posted by krisss View Post
    Thats exactly what it looks like.

    Thats so wierd ????
    Here's the breakdown from where the clip starts:
    1) NR is recovering from a stroke, and his stroke has already passed the net
    2) Female on other side does a netshot
    3) NR does a forehand push
    4) Opponent guy does a lift
    5) NR does a smash

    Nothing illegal there.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Athelete1234 View Post
    Here's the breakdown from where the clip starts:
    1) NR is recovering from a stroke, and his stroke has already passed the net
    2) Female on other side does a netshot
    3) NR does a forehand push
    4) Opponent guy does a lift
    5) NR does a smash

    Nothing illegal there.
    After viewing it in HQ i see it now haha. Very interesting

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Uk
    Posts
    152
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    LOL i watched this ten times... then realised that it's the other guy returning... lol how did i miss that. I guess i was looking for the smash too much, nice instructional video btw

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    www.indexwebmarketing.com
    Posts
    65
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hey I too thought it was just an AWESOME shot but then it's really 3 fast shots that youtube's quality doesn't show an athlete1234 really describes well what takes part, watch in HQ:

    Quote Originally Posted by Athelete1234 View Post
    Here's the breakdown from where the clip starts:
    1) NR is recovering from a stroke, and his stroke has already passed the net
    2) Female on other side does a netshot
    3) NR does a forehand push
    4) Opponent guy does a lift
    5) NR does a smash

    Nothing illegal there.
    still really awesome racket speed

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Bay Area
    Posts
    350
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    LOL omg. that is crazy

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yeah if you watch in LQ, its totally different than HQ haha! Different fps i guess. In LQ, the shot looks pretty amazing though haha.

  15. #15
    Regular Member george@chongwei's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    MIA
    Posts
    29,964
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    wow, what a trick shot

Similar Threads

  1. throwing racquet to recover shot - legal?
    By Capnx in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 16
    : 02-13-2012, 05:37 PM
  2. Is the hook net drop shot legal?
    By RobbieV in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 38
    : 03-04-2007, 07:48 PM
  3. Is This Legal?
    By magiadam in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 18
    : 01-28-2006, 09:26 AM
  4. Is this legal or not?
    By pwakankar in forum General Forum
    Replies: 10
    : 12-19-2005, 06:25 PM
  5. Unlikely shot: is this legal?
    By bigredlemon in forum General Forum
    Replies: 8
    : 01-14-2003, 09:01 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •