Cab 20 too good for a beginner??

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by anandalphonse, Apr 17, 2009.

1. anandalphonse

anandalphonse Regular Member

Engineer
    I'm a middle level beginner,who left out playn for last 6 years ..Now I'm back into the game,playn continuously for last couple of months. I bought a 2UG5 2005 cab 20sp(orange) since it was a bit stiff and would be similar to my old racquet(steel frame/ aluminium head),and strung it with Bg65 at 24 Lbs. But after 3 months of usage, it is not responding well, and i find it wey too head light(with BP only around ~275mm with strings n over grips removed! ). My base line to base line shorts are pretty weak, Smashes are getting flatter. Only thing working best rite now is my defence is pretty good, n I can take some close to body shorts, back hands, which was virtually impossible in others eyes:eek:.Since cab 20 is an advaned racquet, is it difficult for a learner like me to harness its full potential? . Is it wise stick to Cab 20 and try to get my shorts rite?I play doubles, me usually at back .Should I get my self a pretty even balanced racquet(like mp 29 Lt)?, or much a head heavy one(an armotec 250)??....I guiss getting another advanced level racquet wount work with at my level of play! So I'm not tryn to get any top end racquets..I'm requesting ur openion since some of u might have came accross similar siutation like mine...

2. weeyeh

weeyeh Regular Member

Cab20 is not a very beginner friendly racket mainly because it has a tiny sweetspot. For the same reason, it is a very good training racket. Hit the sweetspot and the Cab will reward you with a nice boom. I do not think it is that difficult to use but I have not personally tried the orange Cab20 (only used the blue/red version very long ago).

It may be that you are not using your wrist enough. You might want to reduce your string tension to see if it helps. See if you can get a better player to help you out.

3. colekwok