Become a more threatening player

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by ALI, Sep 8, 2002.

1. ALI

ALI Regular Member

Student
    Hi. I've played badminton for years already, and I must say that my technique have improved quite a lot. I'm still studying, so I only play once a week (and that's my training) for 2.5 hours. However, I do practice sometimes at home by playing with the wall, swinging a racquet with the cover on, doing press ups, jump circuits, and sit ups. I also go jogging occasionally.I've got most of my techniques right, such as my smashes are steep (not floating), my clears will reach the baseline, my netplays are tight, my slice drops are pretty decent etc.

Although my techniques are correct already, I really hope I can become a more threatening player. My friends say that my smash is really fast, but I'm still not contented with it. I saw some other players play, and I really admire the 'bang' they have when they smash. The sound of them playing clears is also very enjoying. For me, eventhough I have the ability to hit fast, steep smashes and hit effortlessly to the baseline, I don't really enjoy it myself, because there is really not much banging around here and there. I feel I'm not that threatening.

I really hope I can develop some really threatening skills. You see, eventhough players like Yong Hock Kin and Roslin Hashim are good players, I'm sure other players will not feel as pressurised playing them if compared to playing with other players like Peter Gade, Taufik Hidayat, Xia Xuanze which have such tremendous smashes and masked cut drops. I really hope you can give me some advice on it. I must say I can't put too much time in badminton, but I just hope with the time I have, I can develop myself to a even better player. Thanks for all your advice.

2. TDotSmAsHer

TDotSmAsHer Regular Member

Student Gr 11 in Sept.------- badminton player/ad