User Tag List

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Point of Law

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Point of Law

    Hi People

    Need some guidance on a point of law, as the following situation happened in a recent tournament.

    During a rally, the opposing side hits a shot at his apponent, this is in a doubles match BTW, the apponent then turns away as he is about to be hit by the shuttle, either in the face or body, the raquet is in the way of the shuttle, the opponent is not looking or may have their eyes closed, the shuttle then hits the raquet and is returned over the net, winning the point.

    Love to hear your thoughts and is it covered in the rules? I'll tell you what was called by the opposition, should i get any replies.

    )

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Calgary, Canada
    Posts
    133
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I would say that would be a point for the return. Nothing illegal occurred, it was just a normal return...albeit it was accidental

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    97
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nuetronist View Post
    I would say that would be a point for the return. Nothing illegal occurred, it was just a normal return...albeit it was accidental
    Agree! Nothing strange about that!

    Though I would suspect that from your post, the opposition called foul play?

  4. #4
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,945
    Mentioned
    54 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    the opponent can be on a tiptoe, then do a 180 flip followed by a somersaut and then hits the shuttle with the racket between its leg.

    as long as it is hit with the racket, it doesn't matter.

Similar Threads

  1. Six-Point Suspension Vs. Six-Point Internal
    By Pete LSD in forum Badminton Stringing Techniques & Tools
    Replies: 107
    : 04-17-2012, 12:11 AM
  2. Who Gets The Point?
    By 16_FeatherS in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 9
    : 05-14-2011, 12:18 AM
  3. Who won the point?
    By Wong8Egg in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 5
    : 03-29-2009, 07:04 AM
  4. Replies: 12
    : 03-19-2009, 07:26 AM
  5. 2-point, 4-point, 6-point stringing machines-what does it mean?
    By taneepak in forum Badminton Stringing Techniques & Tools
    Replies: 11
    : 06-30-2004, 05:34 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •