Best return of smash?

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by Derek S-H, May 15, 2009.

1. Derek S-H

Derek S-H Regular Member

Care Worker
    I suppose there isn't a definitive answer to this query, but I thought I'd ask anyway!

When I started playing the game I was told to only clear as a last resort, that it would inevitably lead to a hard smash and being on the defensive.

Over the years, I've learnt not to fear anyone's smash, but I've noticed in most of the tournament footage I've seen that smashes tend to be returned as a series of high clears (mainly in Doubles, Singles players tend to play drives or pushes).

My instinct in returning a smash is to play a drive or pushed return, something flat or low, not another high clear. So why do the pros do that?

What do you do?

Derek

2. Athelete1234

Athelete1234 Regular Member

Student
    The goal for pros is to keep the high lifts going to make the smashes less penetrating, and then waiting for a weak smash to turn around the attack.

3. Derek S-H

Derek S-H Regular Member

Care Worker
    And what do you do?
    Derek

4. Athelete1234

Student
    Well...I have awful defense, so I try to eliminate their attack asap. So, I try to return with flat drives to an empty corner, or block to the midcourt, so our side gets the attack soon.

5. kwun

kwun Administrator

BC Janitor
    you should not equate what you do with the pros. they are around 8 level above us in terms of speed, power, court coverage and techniques.

6. Fidget

Fidget Regular Member

I think the reason for the continued lifts at high level badminton is that they fear that anything else will be cut off and put away by the front man.

Those guys are so fast at the front, you can't sneak anything flat by them. So they just take the chance with the lifts.

7. Athelete1234

Student
    Very good point!

8. t3tsubo

t3tsubo Regular Member

Student