Looking for a good offensive racket?

Discussion in 'General Forum' started by Eddie Weems, Feb 17, 2001.

1. Eddie Weems

Eddie Weems Guest

Hey everybody, I just started playing badminton about 4-5 months ago, and I've fallen in love with it. I currently posses a Pro Kennex carbo 727 stiff flex and I like it a lot. However, I have no idea what a "good" racket is. Hahahaha, I just went out and purcahsed one for about 65-70 dollars, one that was relatively light weight and looked nice. Anyway, can anyone suggest a racket which would be more suited for a smashing / driving player like myself? And if this will suit me good for right now ( High school badminton ) Then just let me know that what I have is fine for right now. Thanks.

Eddie - U.S.A

2. Don

Don Regular Member

If you're comfortable with what you have now then why buy another racquet?

3. shaun

shaun Regular Member

Theatre boy!!
    I agree with Don, there is nothing better than having a raquet that you are used to using. I''ve gone through about 5 different raquets in the past 2 or 3 months and that has served me no good in my game. finally, i overcame my ignoreance and stuck to one raquet....once i got used to this raquet, my game derastically improved.
    the requet needs to seem as if it is an extension of your hand, and u should know the raquet so well that u can hit the sweet spot everytime. this take about a week or 2 to figure out with constant playing

4. Mark

Mark Guest

If you are comfortable with your racket then, as has been said, carry on.

The two main things I would possibly think about are these:

1. There is an option with many new rackets to opt for a 'Long' Shaft, which are typically 10mm longer than regular shafts.

2. Most players have a preference between Classic(egg shape) head design and Isometric(squared egg type shape).