User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: faulty or not ?

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    jakarta
    Posts
    17
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Post faulty or not ?

    Just wonder...is it a fault when making any kind of shot (even doing a high lift), i accidentally mishit the bird but it comes deceiving our oppnts (such as hitting the bird by racket's frame) ?
    In my friendly game, it's just treated as usual (no fault perceived), it even gave a point to me.
    1). Cud u tell me how it's treated in international/pros games?
    2). how is the serve gonna be taken as fault by umpire (at official int'l game)?

    Thx
    doel

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    1,719
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Mis-hits (as in hitting the frame) used to be faults but are now allowed. If you fluke a mis-hit in to a fortunate position, there isn't really much you can do other than apologise to your opponent. You could put the shuttle deliberately in to the net next serve to give them the point back but an apology is enough.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    jakarta
    Posts
    17
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Apology?
    you're not kidding me,right? point by point is struggled to 'one last breathe', how cud i deliberately give them point back??? :-(

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    1,719
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bdoel10 View Post
    Apology?
    you're not kidding me,right? point by point is struggled to 'one last breathe', how cud i deliberately give them point back??? :-(
    You'd just serve the shuttle in to the net. If you fluked a shot that won you a point and you weren't happy about taking it, serving it in to the net would give your opponent a point and the serve.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    971
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    no fault , and play shall carry on. no way in hell am i gonna deliberately give a point back ...

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    garden grove
    Posts
    415
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    ok here's the question
    what if you hit the bird by ur FRAME and within wat so ever .03? second it hit the string and gets over your opponent court. And it's all involve with one motion.
    is that legal? for international game?
    i know it's hard to believe, but sometime it happen to me when returning the smash.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Australia, Brisbane
    Posts
    744
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    double hitting is illegal. But sometimes its very hard for the referee to pick up on due to the quickness of the event. If you know for a fact you double hit the shuttle then be honest and stop play.
    Iv done it plenty of times and it has been missed. I dont like cheating so i normally stop play and just say sorry i double hit.

    and on topic frame/mishit shots are not illegal. Just raise your hand in apology and continue with play.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    jakarta
    Posts
    17
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    clear n sound now
    thanks

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    garden grove
    Posts
    415
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    koo ty for the information
    appreciated never knew it illegal =)

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    120
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gamepurpose View Post
    ok here's the question
    what if you hit the bird by ur FRAME and within wat so ever .03? second it hit the string and gets over your opponent court. And it's all involve with one motion.
    is that legal? for international game?
    i know it's hard to believe, but sometime it happen to me when returning the smash.
    double hitting is not illegal in your example so long as the shuttle is struck during ONE stroke, and so long as the shuttle is not slung. this is true in all levels, including international.

    It shall be a ‘fault’:
    13.3 if in play, the shuttle:
    13.3.8 is hit twice in succession by the same player. However, a shuttle hitting the head and the stringed area of the racket in one stroke shall not be a ‘fault’

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •