Results 1 to 11 of 11
Thread: Unusual rule query...help!
07-05-2009, 11:27 AM #1
Unusual rule query...help!
This scenario doesn't need to be on service, but let's say it is for the purposes here...
Player A serves. The shuttle is heading towards Player B's service box, and just before it drops onto the line (to be called in), Player B swings for it and misses. However, the shuttle is pulled off-course by the gust of air and lands just outside the service box.
How does one call this?!
07-05-2009, 11:54 AM #2
07-05-2009, 11:57 AM #3
You think it'd be possible to try incorporate this as a tactic? Or too difficult to do on purpose...?
07-05-2009, 12:08 PM #4
SuperBreath, it will be quite a challenge to rely on this as a regular tactic.
Of course, it doesn't hurt to try.
On the other hand, returning the shuttle might be a more practical idea
07-05-2009, 03:37 PM #5
07-05-2009, 07:17 PM #6
i think unless it happens in an international game, there won't be an explicit rule written on it. but like cooler said, if there's a ref, he/she might give a warning first, and if u do it again, lose the point
07-05-2009, 08:37 PM #7
It would be called "Out", of course.
07-06-2009, 01:35 AM #8
I don't really know how some1 would able to do that every shots. The racquet has holes, to able to create the wind that is strong enough to push the bird goes backward direction. He or she should have a super built body or arm or watever. Go try it if you want, lol, hanging paper? sure. something that is small and heavy as like i don't know, let's say a foam cup, see if you able to make it move with a swing.
07-06-2009, 01:26 PM #9
put a paper on one said of the frame... if they serve short, swing the racket to the direction of the paper-side so ud have enough wind to force the shuttle fall before the line...otherwise swing to the other direction and the paper will drop and wont bother the game unless u step on it and slip =p
07-06-2009, 02:45 PM #10
Isn't that called cheating =P ahhaahha
07-06-2009, 06:15 PM #11
lol...pretty pointless to try and use this as a tactic unless you have absolutely pinpoint accuracy and judgment.
And if the referee can see movement change in the shuttle alot of them will actually call that you have contacted the shuttle.
By ronslasher94 in forum Racket Recommendation / ComparisonReplies: 0: 01-21-2012, 12:49 PM
By amleto in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 34: 02-22-2011, 07:06 AM
By collinsc in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 3: 10-28-2009, 07:12 AM
By collinsc in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 7: 10-27-2009, 11:18 AM
By samohtom in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 6: 03-31-2004, 05:10 PM