User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 17 of 18

Thread: fault or not?

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default fault or not?

    Shuttle is hit around the edge of the post, lands in, but was below net height in passing around the post. Is it a fault? Which law covers this?

    T

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    2,371
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It's a fault and is covered under law 13.2.2 passes through or under the net

    It's not a fault if the shuttle passes over the net but on the outside (usually means that the player hit the shuttle from outside the boundary lines).

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New York, US
    Posts
    10,283
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Agree.

    As long as it under the net, I think it should be fault.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    boston, ma, US
    Posts
    808
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    it's a fault if it goes below the net. hmm, why would someone hit a shot from there anyway? that's a good distance out of the playing area. Unless there is some trick curve shot.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default fault or not

    I should clarify - it went around the edge of the post so it was neither "through or under the net" to quote law 13.2.2

    T

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The laws doesn't say anything about this. If this happend in a match the shuttle must been hit outside the court. Since the player who hit the shuttle so it went outside the court this player would anyway lost the point/serve. Its not a fault

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Coquitlam
    Posts
    1,045
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default I dont know about badminton...

    but i remember watching tennis one of the games back a while where Agasi (i think it was him) played someone else... the opponant did a cross cort shot and Agasi hit the ball from out of bounds, it passed outside the post and landed in, ended up being the winning shot for the point... Dont know if it's the same in badminton tho...

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New York, US
    Posts
    10,283
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: I dont know about badminton...

    Originally posted by JChen99
    but i remember watching tennis one of the games back a while where Agasi (i think it was him) played someone else... the opponant did a cross cort shot and Agasi hit the ball from out of bounds, it passed outside the post and landed in, ended up being the winning shot for the point... Dont know if it's the same in badminton tho...
    But is that ball under the height of the net or above it? I can understand it, if that's above the height of the net.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    But Badminton and Tennis is very different in this case. This because tennis is allowed to bounce once in the ground.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Coquitlam
    Posts
    1,045
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Re: I dont know about badminton...

    Originally posted by LazyBuddy


    But is that ball under the height of the net or above it? I can understand it, if that's above the height of the net.
    I think it was below net level...

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    boston, ma, US
    Posts
    808
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    comparing to another sport that the ball doesn't hit the ground, volleyball. In volleyball, you have to hit the ball over the net and not around the pole.

    You shouldn't be able to hit a shot outside the pole and under the net and get it in. First, the shot is under the net, 2nd, you shouldn't hit from there anyway. The entire person would have to be in out-of-bound to hit a shot like that. In that case, you already won the point, why would you even attempt a shot like that?

  12. #12
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,945
    Mentioned
    54 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    jwu, while i agree with you from the sensical point of view. i still think the rule should cover all cases. it doesn't make sense does not mean no one will do it. a good set of rule should cover all situations and it should handle this situation in case some guy was so blind he doesn't know where he is standing at.

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    boston, ma, US
    Posts
    808
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    what you say is true and judging from the rule, since the shot goes below the net, it should count as a fault then. Maybe a slight revision or better clarification to the rule is needed.

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Cambridge, UK (heh..only a sixth form college tho)
    Posts
    54
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Nope

    I'm sure i read that this sort of shot isn't a fault. Surely to hit a shot from there would be rather stupid as it would obviously be out. The shuttle did not did or go under the net, just around. Same as in tennis. In volleyball you're not allowed to do this cos then your team can tee up to the extreme left or right and you get an easy point. Badminton only allows one hit and since to hit this shot the shuttle would have crossed the sidelines (if the posts are in the right place) it would have been a fault.

  15. #15
    Regular Member Loh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Singapore Also Can
    Posts
    11,963
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Hi Samohtom

    I think I've got the answer for you. It is found in Steven Boga's handbook on "Badminton" (page 85 No. 5 for the question and page 87 No 5a for the answer)and I quote:

    Question: During a fast-paced rally, a player, not realizing the shuttle will land well out of bounds, drives the bird down her right sideline. It travels below net level to the right of the net pole and lands in the back corner of the opponent's court. What's the call?

    a. Award the rally to the striking player.
    b. Award the rally to the defending player.
    c. Call a let.

    The Answer is 5a. and the reasons are:

    "The only time the shuttle is required to pass directly over the net is during service (Law 11.1.6). During a rally, the shuttle may legally travel over the net or at any height around the net pole. It is a fault if the shuttle travels under or through the net (Law 15.4.2)."

    Tricky question but not for Mr Boga who makes it so clear for us when he dissects and refers to the other aspects of the Law on Service (Law 11) and on Faults (Law 15). Come to think of it, it is darn hard to score such a point!

  16. #16
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    San Francisco Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    48
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Loh and Sheldon are correct; it is not a fault.

  17. #17
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    boston, ma, US
    Posts
    808
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Enlighten once again, well I guess it only makes sense for the striker to be awarded the point since he or she wouldn't won the point anyway if he or she did not play that shot.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Is it fault ?
    By a_tabassum in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 14
    : 03-05-2010, 11:37 AM
  2. Net fault
    By loweechng in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 13
    : 03-25-2009, 04:25 AM
  3. What fault is it? Receiver fault?
    By pascal123 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 57
    : 01-13-2009, 12:48 AM
  4. Who is at fault?
    By Dendrobius in forum General Forum
    Replies: 34
    : 06-26-2006, 04:08 PM
  5. Is it a fault??????????
    By shanepaul86 in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 8
    : 06-10-2005, 11:31 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •