Memory question

Discussion in 'Badminton Photography' started by Pete LSD, Aug 3, 2009.

1. Pete LSD

Pete LSD Regular Member

Soul Searching
    Just got a Samsung ST50 for taking still photos. Am wondering whether SanDisk Extreme III SDHC is an overkill (the camera can't take advantage of the extra speed of memory). What about Extreme Ultra II SDHC?

And up to 8 GB SDHC guaranteed. Does it mean maximum? What if I insert a 16 GB card into the camera?

2. Pete LSD

Pete LSD Regular Member

Soul Searching
    sorry folks . . . I am a complete newbie in photography related stuff . . .

3. ctjcad

ctjcad Regular Member

Dear Master Pete...

- Sure, you can insert a memory stick/card as much as 8 GB or even 16 GB. Your camera won't explode if you put in as much as 16 GB of memory stick/card. It's not really an "overkill".
    Extra speed of memory? The 8 GB or 16 GB is not the speed of the memory stick. It's the capacity allowed. If it's "Extreme III" or "Ultra II", it's just a naming designation. None is faster or slower than the other.
    - All types of SDHC memory stick are fine. Samsung brand is fine. SanDisk makes very good memory stick/card, so you're safe with either one.
    - Yes, 8 GB is guaranteed. But "maximum" can vary & depends if your camera has the option of setting the image quality to fine (more pics stored), superfine (less pics stored) or extra fine (even less pics stored).
    - It's okay to insert a 16 GB memory card in your camera. You can even insert a 32 GB card, if you want to..:cool:
    - Are you going on another vacation??..

Happy clicking!!:cool:

#3 ctjcad, Aug 3, 2009
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2009
  4. LazyBuddy

LazyBuddy Regular Member

Engineer
    I assume the speed is based on terms of Class 2, class 4, class 6, etc?:rolleyes: Well, I am a super newbie in this one. Still stick with cheap point-n-shot ones. :D

5. Marky

Marky Regular Member

Richmond, Beautiful British Columbia, Canada
    From this link: