Some questions about factory-strung rackets/rackets left lying about for a long time

Discussion in 'Badminton String' started by molex, Aug 24, 2009.

1. molex

molex Regular Member

Student
    Hello Everyone,

I've restarted playing badminton earlier this year after a few years' break, and have been using an Ashaway t79 (unclear about the string details). Just last week I bought a new Yonex Armortec 250, which is (presumably) factory strung. I have no idea how long it has been on display before I bought it.

It's my first time playing with a head-heavy racket, and almost immediately I noticed that I couldn't really play well. Everything seemed to be a little tougher and shots seemed to be harder to control, though I suppose that might also be attributed to several other factors.

As for the string itself, shots feel bouncier on the racket and my smashes have suddenly seemed to lose some speed and power, though I am pretty sure I am hitting with the same strength as before. It gives me the faint impression that it's "twangy" and I can't generate as much power as I would like. Would that be due to the racket frame or the string? I chose this racket under the impression that head-heavy rackets are more suitable for attacking play, but I concur that I am probably not 100% used to it yet. My old racket is not with me right now so I am unable to compare.

Anyway, I've been wondering what I can do to improve my performance with this current racket short of buying a new one, and the string seems to be a good place to start. The most burning question right now is would it make a (major) difference if I re-string the racket with a fresh reel of string, at a suitable tension?