Seeking advice on new racquet

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by ladyhawk, Aug 26, 2009.

1. ladyhawk

ladyhawk New Member

Hello,

I recently decided to get back into badminton after a several year hiatus. I played badminton in high school, but stopped in college and am now looking to pick it up again. I feel totally overwhelmed by the options available as far as racquets go, and was hoping I could get some help!

I would not say I am a true beginner, but I'm definitely not advanced (especially given that I'm pretty rusty...) and overall I'm a pretty casual player. This may change in the future, but for now grad school comes first :)

I prefer a light racquet and am looking for something somewhat balanced in terms of power vs control. As I said before, it's been a while, and I sort of need to relearn my play style.

I am not willing to spend a lot of money on this first racquet. I would say that $130US is probably my limit. Ideally this racquet would be fairly durable.

I hope this is enough info...if I've forgotten anything important, please let me know and I'd be happy to supply any needed info. I appreciate any suggestions!

2. silentheart

silentheart Regular Member

a) Welcome to BCBF.
    b) May I ask what brand and model of racquet were you using in HS and what you like and don't like about it?
    I understand you are looking for some thing in all around racquet with even balance. I can will suggest the following racquet.
    1) YY NS4500. it is a slight head light racquet with medium stiff shaft. Very user friendly.
    2) YY NS800. If is a even balanced racquet with stiff shaft. A very good budget all around racquet and give you little extra power on clear and smash.
    3) YY AT70mg. It is a head heavy racquet but pack a lot of punch. Not as good for defense as it is slower to get back to block a shot. It has one of the biggest head size of all Yonex racquets. User friendly and easy to hit.