User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 17 of 27
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    SF Bayarea, CA
    Posts
    21
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Cool Game Rule - Interesting Case Study

    Besides badminton, I play golf too. Maybe, you all know there are so many rules in golf. In contrast, badminton rule was much simpler. Here is something I want to share with you all.

    I read this case from the book, "Badminton", by Steven Boga. Published by Stackpole Books, ISBN 0-8117-2487-5

    During a fast-paced rally, a player, not realizing the shuttle will land well out of bounds, drives the bird down her right sideline. It travels below the net level to the right of the net pole and lands in the back corner of the opponent's court. What is the call?

    a. Award the rally to the striking player
    b. Award the rally to the defending player
    c. Call a let


    (Let: Any exchange or rally that is replayed.)

    I was amazed what the answer is. I will give out the answer next week. If you interested, there are few more cases that I can share.

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    289
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    is it b? Since the birdie traveled below the net level? Btw have you read any books (not ebooks) that offer a lot of strategies or weight training book specifically for badminton?

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Maidstone, KENT
    Posts
    72
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It's A, it's perfectly valid to hit the shuttle around the post below net height. It's no real advantage to the striker as it can only be done if the shuttle was going out anyway - unlike tennis, you can't use sidespin to bend the flight of the ball/shuttle around the post.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    ? ?The Moon? ?
    Posts
    1,087
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yep - A.

    The shuttle can hit the pole , and go in , winning the point!

    Unfortuntely never happened to me .

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    garden grove
    Posts
    415
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It's A
    It perfectly fine if it goes around the pole.

    I think as long as if it doesn't goes under in the section where between the net and the pole.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    728
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    from BWF Laws of Badminton (updated Jan 2009)

    13.3.3 It shall be a fault, if in play, the shuttle fails to pass over the net.

    I guess I would have to say B

    Cheers!

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    243
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I agree with Break-My String.

    That book was published in 1996. The earliest copy of rules I have is 2002 and the relevant rule then was:

    It is a 'fault':
    13.2 if in play, the shuttle
    13.2.3 fails to pass the net

    If this rule was in force in 1996, then it would not be a fault, as there is no requirement for the shuttle to pass over the net. It was (and still is) a fault for the shuttle to pass under the net.

    With the new rules (Jan 2009) then I would say it is a fault.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    SF Bayarea, CA
    Posts
    21
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    According to the book where I got this case study, the answer is A

    Award the rally to the player striking the shuttle. The only time the shuttle is required to pass directly over the net is during service (Law 11.1.6). During a rally, the shuttle may legally travel over the net or at any height around the net pole. It is a fault if the shuttle travels under or through the net (Law 15.4.2).

    However, as Break-my-string stated, this book is written in 1996. How the new law interpret this? Is this still legal? I don't know. But, if it happen to me in a real life (maybe the odd is less than winning a slot machine Jackpot), I will go with answer A.


  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    SF Bayarea, CA
    Posts
    21
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    ionoo, I pick up this book was because my daughter (7th grade) needed it for research paper. Went to 3 branch libraries in San Francisco, I could only found 3 books on badminton, and they are all from 90's. I could find more books on Stakeboard than badminton. How sad!

    Well, to answer your question, no, I haven't read any books on strategies or weight training. I just come to badmintoncentral.com for advices.

    Yeah, BC!

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    SF Bayarea, CA
    Posts
    21
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Case #2:

    A player strikes a shuttle that obviously will not clear the net. The striker's opponent, not realizing that the shuttle will be SHORT, take a swing at it , misses, but hit the net tape with his racket. At the moment the opponent touches the net, the shuttle is about an inch below the top the net. What is the call?

    A. Nothing
    B. Call a fault on the opponent for touching the net.
    C. Award the rally the opponent who touched the net.
    D. Call a let

    Case #3:

    A player strikes a shuttle that hits the top of the net and begins to fall on the striker's side the net. The striker's opponent, not realizing that the shuttle has failed to clear the net, swings at it, misses, but hit the net with the racket. At the time she hit the net, the shuttle is below the tape level on the striker's side of the net. What is the call?

    A. Nothing
    B. Call fault on the opponent for touching the net.
    C. Award the rally to the opponent who touched the net.
    D. Call a let.

    This two cases are so similar, but #2 make it over the net but SHORT, and #3 did not make it over the net. I will come back later for answer from this book.

    enjoy!

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    405
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by e_rat View Post
    This two cases are so similar, but #2 make it over the net but SHORT...
    ??? This contradicts what you said first. Ignoring this comment, and just replying to the blue text:

    Case 2: the shuttle is still in play, therefore the answer is B.

    Case 3: the shuttle ceased to be in play after it hit the net, at the moment it started to fall on the striker's side, therefore the answer is C.

    The difference between the two cases is purely the timing, yes? The striker plays the same shot in both cases (the shuttle will hit the net); in case 2, the opponent touches the net before the shuttle does, and in case 3 the shuttle hits the net first.

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    1,241
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    When I was reading this, I was immediately thinking snake shot. (for those of you who know what I'm talking about)

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    38
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Joseph View Post
    When I was reading this, I was immediately thinking snake shot. (for those of you who know what I'm talking about)
    Noooooo leave that out of here!

    Recognizing that has made me want to crawl under a rock for the rest of the day ;.;

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Kiwiland
    Posts
    84
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    For #2: I think it's B.

    For #3: I think it's C. Because the shuttle has failed to pass the net and the point is already awarded to the defender even though he/she touches the net after.

    Very interesting case, keep them coming.

  15. #15
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Brunei
    Posts
    453
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Sounds like when I took my highway codes and rules for my driving test.

    #3 is new to me.

  16. #16
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    toronto
    Posts
    187
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    #1 is A
    #2 is B
    #3 is B
    I think.

  17. #17
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    405
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I wonder if e_rat plans to come back and actually give us the answers.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    : 12-22-2011, 03:52 AM
  2. Interesting table tennis game
    By Bbn in forum Badminton Tournament Video Sharing
    Replies: 5
    : 01-09-2007, 07:01 AM
  3. Interesting Study - Talent
    By blckknght in forum Professional Players
    Replies: 8
    : 05-11-2006, 09:12 AM
  4. Interesting IBF rule
    By silentheart in forum General Forum
    Replies: 10
    : 03-07-2006, 04:53 PM
  5. Clarification required about a rule of the game.
    By Ramesh in forum General Forum
    Replies: 7
    : 04-22-2002, 08:32 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •