User Tag List

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 18 to 25 of 25
  1. #18
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    38
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shihman View Post
    i also need a clarification on this rule as well. i was told or read some where that when the shuttle hits the floor or the net the point is over. therefore the racket touching the net will not be counted as a fault.

    example, when your opponent tries a backcourt drop shot and as you approach the net to lift, on your up swing your racket touch the net. but the shuttle did not clear the net and was hit into the net first before your racket hits the net. this is not a fault because once the shuttle hits the net, the point is over. correct?
    If your racket did indeed hit the net after the shuttle. I'd say it'd be a bit hard to call that though, the tip of the head might hit it sooner. It seems a moot point to me though, you lose the rally either way o,o

    Quote Originally Posted by venkatesh View Post
    Wow! I guess this answers my question here
    http://www.badmintoncentral.com/foru...&highlight=net
    Just to be sure, he was joking there (not sure if you are). Pretty sure that it's generally assumed players are supposed to know the rules.

    Bit off topic, but I didn't want to necro your 8 month old thread. Gotta say, I find it strange that everyone latched onto the idea of the racket dropped in your court to being a distraction. Pretty sure a racket on your side of the court could be considered an obstruction what with how most players probably would try to avoid stepping on someone elses racket (and therefore would be prevented from taking a legal shot). Meh, prolly a bit of stretch.
    Last edited by Pisthetairos; 09-23-2009 at 01:01 PM.

  2. #19
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,658
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Sorry, this is for the one that is asking about follow through on net tap or smash.

    Unless you are talking about quantum physic. When you are up at the net and excute a net tap or smash. 1) Which distance is shorter? the racquet to the net. or the net to the ground? 2) given the shuttle speed can not exceed the racquet head speed by more than 2 time, which even happens first? your racquet touch the net or the shuttle hits the ground?
    Kids, please use your head and think before you ask.
    Last edited by silentheart; 09-23-2009 at 01:06 PM.

  3. #20
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    texas
    Posts
    66
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    sorry i didn't make my example clear. i meant the back court drop shot hit by your opponent didn't clear the net and your racket up swing hits the net after the shuttls has already hit the other side of the net.

  4. #21
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    38
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shihman View Post
    sorry i didn't make my example clear. i meant the back court drop shot hit by your opponent didn't clear the net and your racket up swing hits the net after the shuttls has already hit the other side of the net.
    My bad, didn't read properly.

    Gotta say though, a lot of questions like these can be easily answered by a quick look at the laws of badminton >.>

    http://www.internationalbadminton.or....aspx?id=10513

    13. FAULTS
    It shall be a ‘fault’:
    ...
    13.4 if, in play, a player:

    13.4.1 touches the net or its supports with racket, person or dress;
    ...

    15. SHUTTLE NOT IN PLAY
    A shuttle is not in play when:
    15.1 it strikes the net or post and starts to fall towards the surface of the court on the striker’s side of the net;

    ...
    Again, I'd assume it'd be a close call (and more often than not be called a fault) unless you swung at it quite a while after the bird hit.

  5. #22
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Posts
    1,534
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I don't think there needs to be much of an interval in the case of a drop shot as it's already going downwards.

    The key part is "starts to fall towards the surface of the court", in a drop shot as soon as it hits the net it's falling.

  6. #23
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    38
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by druss View Post
    I don't think there needs to be much of an interval in the case of a drop shot as it's already going downwards.

    The key part is "starts to fall towards the surface of the court", in a drop shot as soon as it hits the net it's falling.
    It's also no longer in play soon as it hits the net. Anything after that happens after that is moot. I think it'd be a close call unless you have someone judging from the sidelines; especially if you're playing with someone who isn't very good with the honor system >.>

  7. #24
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Posts
    1,534
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Not always, if you're at the front and lift and it hits the net on the way up then it's still moving upwards so you don't know which side of the net it's going to land on therefore it's still in play. Happens with a hard smash as well when you hit the very top of the tape and the shuttle moves upwards before moving down again.

  8. #25
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    38
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by druss View Post
    Not always, if you're at the front and lift and it hits the net on the way up then it's still moving upwards so you don't know which side of the net it's going to land on therefore it's still in play. Happens with a hard smash as well when you hit the very top of the tape and the shuttle moves upwards before moving down again.
    I guess I deserve a response like that for not being specific enough, but in the situation being discussed it's assumed that it didn't clear the net >.>

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Similar Threads

  1. is this legal? changing racket DURING a rally?
    By Capnx in forum General Forum
    Replies: 19
    : 07-14-2009, 01:02 AM
  2. is it legal
    By saifii in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 13
    : 05-04-2008, 11:06 PM
  3. legal or not
    By fifteen luv in forum General Forum
    Replies: 10
    : 04-10-2007, 01:06 AM
  4. Replies: 9
    : 03-16-2005, 05:30 PM
  5. Legal Length Of a Racket
    By JChen99 in forum Badminton Rackets / Equipment
    Replies: 28
    : 03-26-2003, 05:34 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •