User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 17 of 19
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Is this allowed or against the rule?

    Hi all

    I understand the racket is not allowed to touch the net.

    Is it allowed for the racket to go over the net?

    2 scenarios:

    1.) If the opponent hits a very weak clear that goes to around the front of the net, am I allowed to swing the racket over the net and hit the shuttle?

    2.) After I do a "drop" and the shuttle is flying toward the opponent's court, am I allow to put my racket over the net and swinging it back and forth to distract the opponent, to make the opponent very uncomfortable to defend the drop? or even that can make the opponent scared to get to the shuttle?

    Is it legal in this 2 scenarios :P?

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    175
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    i don't think so

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    London, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    91
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    no, and no
    15 chars

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Campbell, California, United S
    Posts
    496
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    for the first one the shuttle has to have crossed the net so ur follow through can cross the net i think

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    28
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    1. As long as the shuttle is over the net & on your side of the court you can hit it. However the T joint of the racquet do not cross over. Anytime the T joint is over, it is illegal.

    2. Again, the same thing it is legal as long as the T joint is not over the net. But if you do this, and the shuttle hit your racquet before its over on your side..this will be a fault or illegal.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    330
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    for scenario 1, you can only hit the shuttle on your side, but your follow through action can briefly cross the net as long as it does not hinder your opponent from playing the shuttle

    for scenario 2, the umpire may also give you a warning for unsportsmanship conduct, and if you do it again he may deduct points. in the case of a tournament match but the games are unofficiated (playing just by honours system), the opponent can object to your actions and request an unpire present to make an official ruling.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    garden grove
    Posts
    415
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I suppose as long as the bird is in play, your racquet are not allow to pass the net period.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Check out the laws of badminton at http://www.internationalbadminton.or....aspx?id=10513.

    Capnx is correct. i.e. you can only contact the shuttle on your side of the net, your racket is only allowed to cross over the net on follow through of the stroke.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    524
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by InDoDoNkZ View Post
    1. As long as the shuttle is over the net & on your side of the court you can hit it. However the T joint of the racquet do not cross over. Anytime the T joint is over, it is illegal.

    2. Again, the same thing it is legal as long as the T joint is not over the net. But if you do this, and the shuttle hit your racquet before its over on your side..this will be a fault or illegal.
    Just to clarify, it would be helpful if you could provide the passage explaining this rule about the T-joint. I haven't actually read about this rule before.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    38
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hiroisuke View Post
    Just to clarify, it would be helpful if you could provide the passage explaining this rule about the T-joint. I haven't actually read about this rule before.
    That would be because the T-joint is never mentioned in the Laws at all >.>

    There's a relatively new thread on these kind of questions already.

    http://www.badmintoncentral.com/foru...ad.php?t=75272

    Search button is your friend <.<

    The laws are an even better friend.


    13.4 if, in play, a player:


    13.4.2 invades an opponentís court over the net with racket or person except that the striker may follow the shuttle over the net with the racket in the course of a stroke after the initial point of contact with the shuttle is on the strikerís side of the net;

    13.4.3 invades an opponentís court under the net with racket or person such that an opponent is obstructed or distracted; or

    13.4.4 obstructs an opponent, i.e. prevents an opponent from making a legal stroke where the shuttle is followed over the net;

    13.4.5 deliberately distracts an opponent by any action such as shouting or making gestures;

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    524
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pisthetairos View Post
    That would be because the T-joint is never mentioned in the Laws at all >.>

    There's a relatively new thread on these kind of questions already.

    http://www.badmintoncentral.com/foru...ad.php?t=75272

    Search button is your friend <.<

    The laws are an even better friend.

    Thanks. I figured they weren't and haven't seen them before, but I was too sleepy to put up a fight.

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    28
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Ah I'm sorry for the confusion as I was told back when i was a kid by my uncle.

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Aus. Msia.
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    "13.4.2 invades an opponent’s court over the net with racket or person except that the striker may follow the shuttle over the net with the racket in the course of a stroke after the initial point of contact with the shuttle is on the striker’s side of the net;"

    I would like to ask how do you consider follow the shuttle over the net with the racket.

    Does that mean that the contact point of shuttle and racket is at my side of the court and then my racket can goes with the flight of the shuttle and cross the net??

    So does that mean, as long as the contact point of the shuttle and racket is at my side of the court, racket crossing the net is legal??

    Thanks..

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    38
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Chee_Khang View Post
    "13.4.2 invades an opponentís court over the net with racket or person except that the striker may follow the shuttle over the net with the racket in the course of a stroke after the initial point of contact with the shuttle is on the strikerís side of the net;"

    I would like to ask how do you consider follow the shuttle over the net with the racket.

    Does that mean that the contact point of shuttle and racket is at my side of the court and then my racket can goes with the flight of the shuttle and cross the net??

    So does that mean, as long as the contact point of the shuttle and racket is at my side of the court, racket crossing the net is legal??

    Thanks..
    Yes. That's exactly what they mean by on the striker's side of the net <.<

  15. #15
    Regular Member blindfury's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    622
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    this thread needs some pictures!


  16. #16
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    524
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Your picture is great for the left side, but questionable for the right person. How far away is the right person away from the net?

    I still like the picture though.

    I would also like to point out that "gamepurpose" 's comment is not true.

  17. #17
    Regular Member blindfury's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    622
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    lol stop picking bones man, i suppose the person on the right can block all he/she want, just not anywhere reasonable to block up the net, hence, if the stick man stands 5 feet away from the net, the player can go ahead and block, and that will look very stupid and pointless, but again, it will not be called by the umpire.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Monopod/tripod allowed?
    By sgysfj in forum Badminton Photography
    Replies: 1
    : 01-29-2012, 11:02 PM
  2. Is it allowed?
    By CliveH in forum Thomas Laybourn Forum
    Replies: 2
    : 05-11-2006, 07:34 PM
  3. Rule change:coaches allowed to give advice during game
    By DaN_fAn in forum General Forum
    Replies: 6
    : 07-01-2005, 04:02 PM
  4. Is it allowed to resign from a 'set'?
    By Faisal in forum General Forum
    Replies: 18
    : 01-06-2004, 07:23 PM
  5. Cutting off clears allowed?
    By Cruxradio in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 26
    : 12-19-2003, 03:27 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •