playing in net

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by angelus_2012, Oct 30, 2002.

1. angelus_2012

angelus_2012 Regular Member

hi all. i need to know the strategy of playing singles..

ok, where is the position should i serve the shuttle to (in the opponents sector) so that i'm safe of direct smash? should i play a high, long rally ; or should i play a low and short rally?

after that, when the opponent start to play net with me, should i continue to play net with the fellow tactically or should i hit far behind him?

2. Joseph

Joseph Regular Member

I'm not very good at singles, but i can tell you what i've seen. For serves, from right to left, i see people serving to the backhand part or to the far corners. I dont usually see smashes just after the serve. I think they try to position their opponent in some way before they smash. I dont know about the rally part, shouldnt you be doing a combination of both?

For net play, you can play the net, but i think there's a lot of consequences to it if you dont play it right. I read in one of the threads, that if the person is right handed, and you start net play on the right side of the court. Then you should clear to their backhand while he/she is at the net. My advice shouldn't really be trusted since I'm still new to the game. But that's what i think.

3. modious

modious Regular Member

Your questions are rather vague.

What do you mean of a direct smash? If you serve all the way to the rear, chances are your opponent can't really smash it that steep. If you serve a low serve, the opponent can't smash it either.

If you're an explosive player, then keep the rally short! People who prefer strokes and move people around the court (like Hendrawan) will keep the rally longer.