SW / NE and NW / SE stringing i.e. perpendicular to normal string pattern

Discussion in 'Badminton Stringing Techniques & Tools' started by caduceusnz, Oct 2, 2009.

1. caduceusnz

caduceusnz Regular Member

HI complete novice here so just wondering:
    1) has anyone made a stick head with this pattern of stringing previously?
    2) if not, any thoughts how it would perform?

2. sihker

sihker Regular Member

You mean stringbed is turned by 45 degrees? If we leave aside the engineers, who calculated and designed the racquet in normal way, grommets and string wear, you can string a racquet at much lower tension in such way. No idea how it affects slicing and spinning the netshot :D

3. Mark A

Mark A Regular Member

It has definitely been done with tennis, but I can't really see the advantage myself - we'd still have short mains near the frame and breakage hotspots (which would be at 1:30, 4:30, 7:30 and 10:30, as opposed to 12, 3, 6 and 9 on a normal racket). Would be an interesting experiment, though - I hope somebody tries it;).

4. caduceusnz

Yeah exactly the head rotated 45 degrees (with 'redirected' grommets of course otherwise there'd be unnecessary tension on grommet points), rather than perpendicular - my bad.

I wondered, if the fact a straight overhead shot in the middle of the sweetspot would mean shuttle making contact not just mainly dependent on cross strings but actually a whole lot of strings, would make a difference.

5. Mark A

Mark A Regular Member

Actually, thinking on the tilted pattern, the strings that lie on the sweetspot would all be equal in length and would be almost as long as the longest main in a normal racket. I'm sure that removing the constraint of having short strings (the crosses) on the sweetspot would increase the bed deflection...

6. Kiloo

Kiloo Regular Member

Engineer
    One of my planned trials. But lets get some more experience first.

7. illusionistpro

illusionistpro Regular Member