switching over from plastic to feathers

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by BombaTwIsT, Oct 7, 2009.

1. BombaTwIsT

BombaTwIsT Regular Member

I've been playing for 4 years now, and I played all 4 years of high school, but the whole time i've been playing with plastic birds. Now that i'm in college and playing in the club at college, they all use feather birds like everyone should be, but I'm not very comfortable yet with playing with feathers yet. I feel like my shots are extremely week and my smashes are just drives.

How can i start getting used to feather birds?

I know that i should just play with feathers from now on but are there some key differences that i should keep in mind when playing with feather birds and how they fly?

thanks!

i feel like a total noob asking this ><.

2. chewablemorphin

chewablemorphin Regular Member

Lifeguard, and a little bit of autobody
    1-Feather shuttles upon contact, move at a higher velocity, but slow down or decelerate much faster than nylon shuttles do. This can mess up your timing.

2-Recognizing a shuttle that is too fast or too slow(testing it), and adjusting the feathers to fix it.

3-Feather birds spin a lot faster, making slices even deadlier.

3. TedTheFarmer

TedTheFarmer Regular Member