Reccomend a giant noob a racket?

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by quickrabbit5, Oct 10, 2009.

1. quickrabbit5

quickrabbit5 New Member

Hi,

I've been lurking these forums for quite a while now but seeing as the majority of people here are probably far better than I am, I don't think their opinions as to what certain rackets are like would help me to much. Price is not an issue at all, as someone gave me a top of the line racket which feels awkward, so I'm planning to sell it. Although price is not an issue, I obviously don't want a racket thats too advanced, that it would actually hamper rather than help my ability. Here is my brutally honest analysis of myself :p :

1. I would probably say I am beginner/intermediate. I have been playing for 2-3 years, but very casually. Every saturday for ~3 hours, but often with friends and I have never had a coach so my improvement hasn't been great but now that my SAT's and stuff are over and I have nothing to do I really want to focus on improving.

2. I like smashing but in all honesty I really don't do it that often. I feel like I'm a little short, and I'm also kind of weak, so my smashes never feel effective. As a result most of the time I just end up dropping it or clearing, but it wouldn't hurt to improve on smashing, if a racket could somehow help with that.

3.I'm not sure whether I hate heavy, less maneuverable rackets. I seem to despise the heavier, lower end rackets I have bought before but have never really experienced a lighter racket. My technique isn't great and backhands are awkward and I feel like the heaviness of the racket restricts me from really hitting a backhand with more power. Would a lighter racket help alleviate this problem?