Results 1 to 8 of 8
10-26-2009, 02:43 PM #1
Rule Query - Reaching over the net
Are you allowed to hit the shuttlecock by reaching over the net? (if you dont touch it).
10-26-2009, 02:51 PM #2
You must contact the shuttle on your side of the net. However, you are allowed to follow through over the net.
10-26-2009, 03:11 PM #3
wun.sun is correct, the relevant law is:
It shall be a 'fault':
(13.4) if, in play, a player:
(13.4.2) invades an opponentís court over the net with racket or person except that the striker may follow the shuttle over the net with the racket in the course of a stroke after the initial point of contact with the shuttle is on the strikerís side of the net;
10-26-2009, 03:13 PM #4
Putting aside the complications with the actual rule being stated, in basic terms, the part of the racquet that the shuttle hits cannot be on the opponent's side of the net.
10-26-2009, 03:16 PM #5
Thanks very much - appreciated
10-26-2009, 08:16 PM #6
I'm somewhat of a beginner looking for clarification on this statement:
...the striker may follow the shuttle over the net with the racket in the course of a stroke after the initial point of contact with the shuttle is on the striker’s side of the net...
My interpretation of this rule is that at the moment of contact, no part of the racquet may be over the net, even if the point of contact is on my own side of the net. However, the statement by TedTheFarmer 'the part of the racquet that the shuttle hits cannot be on the opponent's side of the net' sounds as if it's permissible that the tip of the racquet can be over the net so long as the point of contact isn’t. I’m making an assumption from this statement, but can somebody say for certain whether this assumption is correct? I’ve wondered about this since I began playing.
10-26-2009, 08:37 PM #7
Your interpretation is correct, rtc35.
A long time ago when the game was slower than it is now, it used to be that the striker may only follow the shuttle over the net after the shuttle is no longer in play (ie. it has hit the ground or the opponent).
10-27-2009, 11:18 AM #8
Okay, that's good to know. Thanks.
By krisss in forum Badminton Stringing Techniques & ToolsReplies: 1: 02-01-2010, 04:01 PM
By collinsc in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 3: 10-28-2009, 07:12 AM
By GeorgeRowling in forum Techniques / TrainingReplies: 5: 08-11-2009, 09:05 AM
By hrhkingcol in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 10: 07-06-2009, 06:15 PM
By Framerate in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 16: 10-04-2004, 10:12 AM