User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Swindon
    Posts
    46
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Rule Query - Reaching over the net

    Hi

    Are you allowed to hit the shuttlecock by reaching over the net? (if you dont touch it).

    tHANKS

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    99
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    You must contact the shuttle on your side of the net. However, you are allowed to follow through over the net.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Urbana, IL
    Posts
    163
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    wun.sun is correct, the relevant law is:

    Law 13
    It shall be a 'fault':
    (13.4) if, in play, a player:
    (13.4.2) invades an opponentís court over the net with racket or person except that the striker may follow the shuttle over the net with the racket in the course of a stroke after the initial point of contact with the shuttle is on the strikerís side of the net;

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Lancs,Eng
    Posts
    118
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Putting aside the complications with the actual rule being stated, in basic terms, the part of the racquet that the shuttle hits cannot be on the opponent's side of the net.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Swindon
    Posts
    46
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks very much - appreciated

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I'm somewhat of a beginner looking for clarification on this statement:

    ...the striker may follow the shuttle over the net with the racket in the course of a stroke after the initial point of contact with the shuttle is on the striker’s side of the net...

    My interpretation of this rule is that at the moment of contact, no part of the racquet may be over the net, even if the point of contact is on my own side of the net. However, the statement by TedTheFarmer 'the part of the racquet that the shuttle hits cannot be on the opponent's side of the net' sounds as if it's permissible that the tip of the racquet can be over the net so long as the point of contact isn’t. I’m making an assumption from this statement, but can somebody say for certain whether this assumption is correct? I’ve wondered about this since I began playing.

    Thanks

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    In Competition
    Posts
    18,254
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Your interpretation is correct, rtc35.

    A long time ago when the game was slower than it is now, it used to be that the striker may only follow the shuttle over the net after the shuttle is no longer in play (ie. it has hit the ground or the opponent).

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Okay, that's good to know. Thanks.

Similar Threads

  1. Mounts not reaching racket?
    By krisss in forum Badminton Stringing Techniques & Tools
    Replies: 1
    : 02-01-2010, 04:01 PM
  2. Rule Query - Touching the net
    By collinsc in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 3
    : 10-28-2009, 07:12 AM
  3. Reaching the drop shot to backhand
    By GeorgeRowling in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 5
    : 08-11-2009, 09:05 AM
  4. Unusual rule query...help!
    By hrhkingcol in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 10
    : 07-06-2009, 06:15 PM
  5. Rules when reaching 14-14
    By Framerate in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 16
    : 10-04-2004, 10:12 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •