User Tag List

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast
Results 1 to 17 of 100

Thread: ambidextrous

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default using two rackets

    This is possibly a stupid question but I have a student who can hit the bird with both hands. She will switch to her left hand to hit the bird on her forhand so that she doesn't have to use her backhand. Is it legal for her to use two rackets at the same time during competition?

    And would you suggest I tell her to keep using one hand or two keep letting her use both hands. She is pretty strong with both hands.

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Burnaby
    Posts
    110
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It is normally better to use one hand, so you don't lose the reaction time. I have a friend who does that too, but i just smash to his left hand side, and he can't switch the racket fast enough to block the shots. Now he's starting to use only one hand to play.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Calgary, Canada
    Posts
    67
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I really dont think that you can use two racquets in a game, and I stress really, even though I can't find anything that contradicts this.

    but you probably can't,

    I don't think switching hands is that good of an idea, maybe you should help her practice her backhand

    just a thought

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    2,371
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: using two rackets

    Originally posted by jxc241
    This is possibly a stupid question but I have a student who can hit the bird with both hands. She will switch to her left hand to hit the bird on her forhand so that she doesn't have to use her backhand. Is it legal for her to use two rackets at the same time during competition?

    And would you suggest I tell her to keep using one hand or two keep letting her use both hands. She is pretty strong with both hands.
    It is quite legal to use two racquets in a match. Only thing is how would you be able to serve?

    If she is able to switch back and forth fast enough to return quality shots, then maybe she should keep using both hands but if not, then she would be better off to stay with one.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Calgary, Canada
    Posts
    67
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    are there anyone who actually uses two racquets? I would really like to know

    you could serve by putting the bird on one racquet and flicking it in the air and hit it with your other racquet!

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Cannock, UK
    Posts
    2,908
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    you could serve by putting the bird on one racquet and flicking it in the air
    and that would be your serve, next time you hit it would be a fault (double hit)

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    T.O.
    Posts
    2,096
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    you could always hold the shaft in your mouth, and pickup it up after the serve! A little weird yes but if it's stupid and it works, it's not stupid.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Petaling Jaya, S'gor, M'sia
    Posts
    1,338
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Well.....I've tried playing with 2 racquets before... the serving is no problem. if you're right-hander, hold the shuttle in your left hand WHILE holding the other racquet too.

    Dunno how to explain!!

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New York, US
    Posts
    10,283
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: using two rackets

    Originally posted by jxc241
    This is possibly a stupid question but I have a student who can hit the bird with both hands. She will switch to her left hand to hit the bird on her forhand so that she doesn't have to use her backhand.
    I knew some ppl seldom switch hand during matches. However, the "freqency" is very rare.

    By switching hand, it did surprise ur opponent, and for certain situation (when reaction time is long enough), swtich hand might give u longer reach as well as better return angles.

    Most of time, I won't recommend ppl switching hand. By switching hand, the relative reaction time is much longer than 1 hand. Therefore, especially in a fast paced game, frequent switching hand will give opponent more chances to find ur "short comings". Also, if switching hand in a hurry, u might not grip the racket in the proper spot, which result into weak return or poor angle.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default using two rackets

    Thanks for the help, but no one answered my question. IS IT LEGAL TO USE TWO RACKETS in competition? And can anyone tell me where to find it in the rule books so that I can have it incase I run into problems.
    Last edited by jxc241; 03-25-2003 at 12:34 PM.

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New York, US
    Posts
    10,283
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: using two rackets

    Originally posted by jxc241
    Thanks for the help, but no one answered my question. IS IT LEGAL TO USE TWO RACKETS in competition? And can anyone tell me where to find it in the rule books so that I can have it incase I run into problems.
    WWC already answered ur question in his post by stating "Legal".

    If u want to know the rules, u can go to: http://www.badmintoncentral.com/badm...aws/laws.shtml

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Okay I did notice that he said it was legal but I have yet to find it in the rule book where it says a player can use two rackets simultaneoulsy. I need to have proof of the rule incase they call me on it in our city championships. So can anyone help me here?

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    554
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I've never heard of that problem, probably because it's a practical disadvantage to hold a racquet in each hand. The non-racquet arm and hand serve better as a counter-balance if they can act freely and naturally.

    If it were legal AND an advantage, you can bet all the top players would be doing it. My advice is to tell your student to use one racquet at a time in whatever hand she wants.

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Surrey, Canada
    Posts
    1,536
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    There is no rule stating specifically that you cannot play with two racquets simultanously will each hand, but if one was to be picky about it, there is no possible way she could serve legally since (it is assumed she will pop the shuttle up with the opposite racquet) the opposing racquet could be considered to violate the 'single continuous stroke service rule".

    In all honesty, I think the laws of badminton had never considered anyone doing something so utterly stupid, except as a sideshow act! And as a coach, really what are you even thinking?

  15. #15
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Outside the box
    Posts
    13,490
    Mentioned
    34 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Good point there Badrad.

    It's a very novel idea.

    Honestly speaking, it isn't a good idea. Here's why:

    Assume it takes 4 hours to learn a new shot, then you have to consider the forehand and backhand equivalent. That makes 8 hours.

    Then you have to perfect the shot making process. OK that can be any number of hours. For example, assume 20 hours.

    So the total time would be 48 hours.

    Let's try left hand and right hand.....that would mean 2x48hours = 96 hours!!

    Basically, you would need to put double the work in to get the same quality and consistency of shot making.
    We haven't even gone into the footwork routines....

    There's only one person I've seen with ambidextrous ability who plays successfully and that occurs in tennis (might be one other guy, not sure). I think he's french and has the name 'Vittoro' or something like that. In badminton, the game is just too fast, counterbalance might be a problem, and footwork will be terribly confusing. In doubles, it might be outright dangerous with the counterbalancing arm (with racquet) possibly flailing around.

  16. #16
    Administrator kwun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Clara, California, United States
    Posts
    35,945
    Mentioned
    54 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    Originally posted by badrad
    There is no rule stating specifically that you cannot play with two racquets simultanously will each hand, but if one was to be picky about it, there is no possible way she could serve legally since (it is assumed she will pop the shuttle up with the opposite racquet) the opposing racquet could be considered to violate the 'single continuous stroke service rule".

    In all honesty, I think the laws of badminton had never considered anyone doing something so utterly stupid, except as a sideshow act! And as a coach, really what are you even thinking?
    well said.

  17. #17
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New York, US
    Posts
    10,283
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Originally posted by Californian
    The non-racquet arm and hand serve better as a counter-balance if they can act freely and naturally.
    Agree on the "counter balance".

    When we swing the racket, the empty hand always have a certain tendency to be swinged or moved as well. For example, when I do a overhead smash, my empty hand often moves up to my chest. It's could be just a habit, but I believe more it's the way to keep my motion smooth as well as kept in certain balance. Well, if have have another racket in that hand, I guess I will smash my own face each time I do it.

    Another thing is, when I do drills with my friends, when I have a handful of shuttles in the non-racket hand, I often felt a little bit un-comfortable due to I can't feel freely to move/place my non-racket hand. So, several little birds already feels like this, what about a big racket?

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •