User Tag List

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    sarawak
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Contacting the feather with the cork at the same time

    i swing the racket to start a game. the racket is contacting with the cork before the feather. it is fault? means that you will hear the contaction between the racket and the feather's sound. i like to play badminton, but someone is telling me about my faults.....i just want to make sure that it is true. thx

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Posts
    1,534
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default


    9.1.4 the server’s racket shall initially hit the base of the shuttle;



  3. #3
    Regular Member Thom_bad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Saskatoon, Canada
    Posts
    2,517
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Wink

    Quote Originally Posted by druss View Post
    9.1.4 the serverís racket shall initially hit the base of the shuttle;

    Welcome Stormrider !

    The "base of shuttle" is the cork !
    When you serve, your racket should touch first the cork, even if you do a backhand serve. If you touch first the feather, it is fault.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    In Competition
    Posts
    18,289
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Thom_bad View Post

    The "base of shuttle" is the cork !
    When you serve, your racket should touch first the cork, even if you do a backhand serve. If you touch first the feather, it is fault.
    That definition of "base of shuttle" was put in place in the early 80s after the banning of the Sidek brothers' S-serve, which hit the feathers first with cork in upside down position.

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    sarawak
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    ya, i do a backhand serve. when i serve, my racket touch the cork first. But it may be touch the feather of the shuttle after cork. Although i touch the cork first but you will hear the sound that i touch the feather of the shuttle. In this condition, it's fault? Because i met an old man said he was an international referee since 10 years ago. I'm feeling annoying with this problem.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Posts
    1,534
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Since the wording is "initially" that means that it doesn't matter what it hits afterwards. As long as you're hitting the cork first then it's not a fault.

  7. #7
    Regular Member demolidor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    @Hollanti
    Posts
    11,774
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    So he didn't call it as a double hit? (which it shouldn't be called as)
    Last edited by demolidor; 11-06-2009 at 02:52 PM.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Posts
    1,534
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I guess it depends on whether the cork is still in contact with the strings when the feathers hit it, then it would still be one contact. That would be really difficult to tell though.

    - If the shuttle is hit twice in succession by the same player with two strokes.

    is the rule so as long as it isn't two strokes then hitting the cork then the feathers should not be a fault?

  9. #9
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Outside the box
    Posts
    13,438
    Mentioned
    34 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by St0rMRiD3R View Post
    ya, i do a backhand serve. when i serve, my racket touch the cork first. But it may be touch the feather of the shuttle after cork. Although i touch the cork first but you will hear the sound that i touch the feather of the shuttle. In this condition, it's fault? Because i met an old man said he was an international referee since 10 years ago. I'm feeling annoying with this problem.
    That is not a fault. But your old man may have slow reflexes so he thinks you are hitting both at the same time.

    Ask your old man where it says in the rule book that it is a fault if you hit the feathers after hitting the cork. He should show you or otherwise stop complaining about being beaten on court by you.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    95
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Best thing to do at this stage is to record your own serve. You might had hit the cork and feathers at the same time not realising it.

  11. #11
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    sarawak
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I'm sure that i hit the cork before feather. The old man also know about it. The problem is the old man complaining about "touching the feather when we serve". What i know is we can't hit the feather first such like the Sidek done before. Everytime when i play together with the old man, he will said my way serving is fault. So, my way serving is not fault right? May i know what should i do? Any suggestion? Thanks all.

  12. #12
    Regular Member demolidor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    @Hollanti
    Posts
    11,774
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    "Law 13.3.8

    Previously (13.6.2):

    It is a ‘fault’ if, in play, the shuttle is hit twice in succession by the same player with two strokes;

    Now:

    It shall be a ‘fault’ if, in play, the shuttle is hit twice in succession by the same player. However, a shuttle hitting the head and the stringed area of the racket in one stroke shall not be a ‘fault’;

    Notes:

    1. The original Law only disallowed the same player hitting the shuttle with two strokes. That has been dropped in the new Law, which means that a player may not hit the shuttle twice in succession even with a single stroke.
    2. However, it is OK for a shuttle to hit the head and strings of a racket in one stroke, even though that may sound like a double hit."

    Other than rule 9.1.4 there is nothing in the rules about which part of the shuttle may or may not be hit ...
    Last edited by demolidor; 11-07-2009 at 10:38 AM.

  13. #13
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Outside the box
    Posts
    13,438
    Mentioned
    34 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by St0rMRiD3R View Post
    I'm sure that i hit the cork before feather. The old man also know about it. The problem is the old man complaining about "touching the feather when we serve". What i know is we can't hit the feather first such like the Sidek done before. Everytime when i play together with the old man, he will said my way serving is fault. So, my way serving is not fault right? May i know what should i do? Any suggestion? Thanks all.
    Did you read the 2nd paragraph of my post that is two postings earlier to yours?

Similar Threads

  1. contacting shuttle feathers
    By DivingBirdie in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 12
    : 12-23-2008, 06:02 AM
  2. Shuttle cork head came off
    By Qidong in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 8
    : 06-10-2008, 11:44 PM
  3. Cork Business In Danger
    By cooler in forum Shuttlecock
    Replies: 5
    : 08-08-2007, 12:13 AM
  4. Gail emms pictures and contacting her!
    By galeru in forum Professional Players
    Replies: 6
    : 02-20-2006, 03:20 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •