User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    richmond, BC
    Posts
    50
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question point or no point???

    hey all,
    just played some badminton today and during a doubles match, my partner and i both got caught camping at the net, so my opponents cleared to the back. i rushed to the back and hit an underhand cross court drop which happened to hit my partner's head and go over the net for a perfect drop. so in that situation would the point be considered a fault against my team or is was it a legal point won? thanks.

    mojoe

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,177
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Fault...... Would be a spectacular point won if it wasn't though...

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    richmond, BC
    Posts
    50
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    aww.... too bad... and the bird only skinned his head too :P

    oh well, it was a strange point, but its all good

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    T.O.
    Posts
    2,096
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Would it be a point if I hit the bird with my racquet, but my partner hits my racquet from behind, and essentially further "pushes" my racquet forward? I always presumed it did count but it happene so often that i figure i might as well ask.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    richmond, BC
    Posts
    50
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    so basically its a clash?? i think that as long as the bird doesnt hit anything else on its way over the net, it should be fine.

    at least thats how i interpreted byro's reasoning since my shot it something else on its way over the net.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,177
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Haha, actually this happened to me before a while ago when i was back in Jakarta.

    I was playing for something like the U-12 team or something..... And i was playing mixed doubles. My partner hit my racket with her racket, and my racket hit the shuttle, and the shuttle went over the net. Still counts.....

Similar Threads

  1. Six-Point Suspension Vs. Six-Point Internal
    By Pete LSD in forum Badminton Stringing Techniques & Tools
    Replies: 107
    : 04-17-2012, 12:11 AM
  2. Who Gets The Point?
    By 16_FeatherS in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 9
    : 05-14-2011, 12:18 AM
  3. Who won the point?
    By Wong8Egg in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 5
    : 03-29-2009, 07:04 AM
  4. Replies: 12
    : 03-19-2009, 07:26 AM
  5. 2-point, 4-point, 6-point stringing machines-what does it mean?
    By taneepak in forum Badminton Stringing Techniques & Tools
    Replies: 11
    : 06-30-2004, 05:34 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •