Results 1 to 14 of 14
Thread: shuttle falls on receiver
11-11-2009, 06:56 AM #1
shuttle falls on receiver
what is the rule for the incident when the shuttle falls on the receivers body when he is out of the court?
11-11-2009, 08:56 AM #2
It is a point to the server.
The shuttle is considered "in play" until one of the following occurs:
1. it falls to the floor (whether in or out of court doesn't matter)
2. it hits an opponent's body (which is considered a fault)
3. it hits the net and is deflected back towards the hitter's side of the court
11-11-2009, 12:52 PM #3
Anytime the shuttle hits a player, regardless of whether he's in bounds or not, it's a fault for the player that got hit.
11-11-2009, 03:58 PM #4
11-11-2009, 04:10 PM #5
I would have thought that was obvious. If it's not in play then you can't have a fault can you?
11-11-2009, 04:27 PM #6
11-11-2009, 09:50 PM #7
Let me be more precise then, it cannot be a fault if the shuttle is not in play in the scenario put forth by the original poster...
11-11-2009, 10:51 PM #8
11-11-2009, 11:07 PM #9
9.4 The server shall not serve before the receiver is ready. However, the receiver shall be considered to have been ready if a return of the service is attempted.
14.2 It shall be a ‘let”, if:
14.2.1 the server serves before the receiver is ready (Law 9.4);
Last edited by druss; 11-11-2009 at 11:11 PM.
11-12-2009, 10:05 AM #10
Law 13.5 will apply if after every point when the shuttle is no longer "in play", a player purposely use the shuttle to hit his opponent. He will be faulted for misconduct and his opponent will not be.
11-12-2009, 04:50 PM #11
First... I've never seen anyone intentionally hit another player with a shuttle after the shuttle was no longer in play. Second, it STILL HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THE ORIGINAL QUESTION!
You're causing confusion to the original poster by bringing up situations that has nothing to do with his particular question!
11-14-2009, 01:02 PM #12
druss is half right. it would be obvious to any player who is familiar enough with the rules of the game.
hhwoot is also half right. it would not be so obvious to any player who is not familiar enough with the rules of the game.
but anyway, get back on topic please.
11-15-2009, 06:23 AM #13
once shuttle hits floor or person or roof (in-house rule) then the rally ends.
even if it flies out of court and hits the receiver/s then it is a fault to the one that got hit and oppostion gets point. even if it flies out and the receiver attempts to hit but does not get over the net (if goes over, play continues until of of the above ends the rally).
and yes, if the receiver is not ready, then the service is retaken and a 'let' is played....
11-17-2009, 06:32 AM #14
Actually, what happened was the receiver ran to take the strike, he didnt get the strike and the shuttle fell on his body at that time he was out of the court.
By ggman8988 in forum Canada EastReplies: 2: 04-12-2011, 08:56 PM
By pcll99 in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / OfficiatingReplies: 17: 02-08-2011, 08:14 AM
By algonquinsmash in forum Canada EastReplies: 0: 09-24-2010, 02:52 PM
By ants in forum China Masters 2005 / Indonesian Open 2005Replies: 0: 09-02-2005, 09:19 PM
By ants in forum Korean Open 2004 / Japan Open 2004Replies: 0: 04-10-2004, 01:31 AM