User Tag List

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Switching hands with one racquet

    Long story short,
    Im doing higher PE and were now doing badminton and years ago when I first started playing badminton I learned to serve with my left hand but realised I couldn't play any shots with my left hand and now I serve with my left hand then switch hands to my right for the rest of the rally. Whereas the other teachers didn't care this one insists it is illegal and is going to fail me if i continue to do it. Is this illegal and if it is legal how can I prove it is legal
    Any Replies Much appreciated
    Last edited by KonorGrieve; 11-24-2009 at 08:08 PM. Reason: Mistake

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Posts
    1,534
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It is legal simply because there is no rule against it. Download the laws of badminton search it.

    http://www.worldbadminton.com/rules/...flaws2006a.pdf

    I actually played against a guy that would regularly switch the racket from one hand to another during a tournament, the officials allowed it so I don't see how a PE coach shouldn't. This is actually a handicap. To be honest, you should learn how to serve with your right hand but doing so is not a fault.
    Last edited by druss; 11-24-2009 at 08:20 PM.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Davis, CA
    Posts
    1,218
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I agree with druss, he's got it right on the money. When I first started, I had the crazy idea to be like Ryoma from Prince of Tennis, be ambidextrous. So I play leftie against newbies, but its always rightie once things get serious.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks very much guys

  5. #5
    Regular Member ryim_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Hong Kong SAR, China
    Posts
    1,722
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    One question, how did you learn serving with your left hand? I assume your right hand is the dominant one. If it is, I don't think it will take long for you to learn serving with your right hand.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 19
    : 07-26-2011, 11:15 PM
  2. Playing with 2 racquets at one time / Switching hands in an ongoing rally
    By paroxysmal in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 3
    : 06-18-2010, 10:56 AM
  3. Racquet thrown into your hands?! What would you do?
    By KenD807x in forum General Forum
    Replies: 14
    : 01-11-2010, 09:07 AM
  4. LCW vs WMC (no more hold hands, ONLY hold their own racquet)
    By zazaza in forum Badminton Tournament Video Sharing
    Replies: 4
    : 09-17-2009, 07:20 AM
  5. Replies: 16
    : 09-19-2003, 04:29 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •