User Tag List

Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    malaysia
    Posts
    89
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default hitting a shuttle before it tip to the other side

    when i was in my club my friend had a luck shot where the shuttle lands on the net and tip to my side but while it was still on the net i hit it without touching the net and it its called foul

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Posts
    1,534
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    depends on if the shuttle was on your side when you hit it or not, tough call to make and who made the call anyway?

  3. #3
    Regular Member ryim_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Hong Kong SAR, China
    Posts
    1,722
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kooixh View Post
    when i was in my club my friend had a luck shot where the shuttle lands on the net and tip to my side but while it was still on the net i hit it without touching the net and it its called foul
    how did you manage to hit it without hitting the net? i'm imagining it now actually, seems pretty hard lol

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    139
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    This is my understanding of the rule:

    1) If you hit the net, you lose the point

    2) If at the moment you hit the shuttle, it was at your opponent's side, you lose the point.

    3) This is pretty much given with the 2nd rule, but if at the moment you hit the shuttle, your racket is past the vertical plane of the net, you lose the point.

    Since you didn't touch the net, if you also did not pass the vertical plane of the net, you win the point.

    I'm imagining you hitting that shot; and it was rather close. I would use the trust system if it was just a recreational game. If you say you didn't pass the vertical plane of the net, then you should win the point.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    21
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hellopanda3 View Post
    This is my understanding of the rule:

    3) This is pretty much given with the 2nd rule, but if at the moment you hit the shuttle, your racket is past the vertical plane of the net, you lose the point.

    Since you didn't touch the net, if you also did not pass the vertical plane of the net, you win the point.

    I'm imagining you hitting that shot; and it was rather close. I would use the trust system if it was just a recreational game. If you say you didn't pass the vertical plane of the net, then you should win the point.
    Your allowed to follow through your shot as long as you don't strike the shuttle on your opponents side.

    A fault whenin play, a player;
    13.4.2 invades an opponent's court over the net with racket or person except that the striker may follow the shuttle over the net with the racket in the course of a stroke after the initial point of contact with the shuttle is on the striker's side of the net;

  6. #6
    Regular Member ryim_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Hong Kong SAR, China
    Posts
    1,722
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    but in my opinion, its not about the rules in this situation...its more about actually being able to hit a shot like that during a game AND not touching the net.

  7. #7
    Regular Member Mark A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    St Helens, UK
    Posts
    4,170
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If the shuttle was still on the net it must mean that some part of the shuttle was still in the opponents' court. I'm not sure if the shuttle-crossing rule applies to the whole shuttle or just the base - if the former, it's a fault; if the latter, and there was no breaking of any other associated Law, then it's your point.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London area, UK
    Posts
    3,933
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mark A View Post
    I'm not sure if the shuttle-crossing rule applies to the whole shuttle or just the base
    Neither: it applies specifically to the (initial) point of contact between the racket and the shuttle. Usually this is the base, but occasionally it's the feathers.

  9. #9
    Regular Member Mark A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    St Helens, UK
    Posts
    4,170
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Ah, so even if the shuttle is only part way across the net, it's a legal shot as long as the point of contact is within your own court? Good to know!

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London area, UK
    Posts
    3,933
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    To be precise, here's the relevant law:

    13. FAULTS
    It shall be a ‘fault’:
    ...
    13.4 if, in play, a player:
    ...
    13.4.2 invades an opponent’s court over the net with racket or person except that the striker may follow the shuttle over the net with the racket in the course of a stroke after the initial point of contact with the shuttle is on the striker’s side of the net;
    It's not completely clear what happens when the contact point is on the striker's side, but the top of the racket is on the other side. I suspect that this distinction is so fine as to be irrelevant, given that calls are still made by humans without the aid of video replays.

    (See also this thread.)
    Last edited by Gollum; 03-09-2010 at 09:26 AM.

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    If you want to see this, there's a very good example in the 2010 All England Men Single Quarter Final Gade vs Hidayat.
    In the 3rd rallye Hidayat lands the bird on the net and Gade just hits the feathers and it falls on Hidayats side. The Umpire called it good.
    Beautiful example for this

  12. #12
    Regular Member Mark A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    St Helens, UK
    Posts
    4,170
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I saw that point - our commentators complimented the umpire on his decision. There was another very similar one in the All England XD final of 2008: Gao/Zheng had completely outmanoeuvred Kellogg/Clark forcing a loose backhand from Kellogg, so Zheng Bo steamed into the net to kill it off and was faulted.

    After watching the slo-mo replay I agreed with the decision because the shuttle had not completely crossed the net, but now it appears he was hard done by. Oh well, they won anyway.

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    slovenia
    Posts
    31
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    On my oppinion it is absolutely not possible to hit the shuttle (if it is ON the net) while it is still on the other side unless you hit the net also ...
    Therefore it can not be foulted if the net is not touched...
    Just make a simple training ... put the shuttles ON to the net with feathers down and the base up and then try to hit them without touching the net ...

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Kerry
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Rather than make a new thread for this, as it seemed similar to the topic, there was a question I wanted to ask.

    One time when I was playing in my local club, perhaps the net wasn't particularly well tied, the shuttle was hit in a way such that it became balanced on the cord.

    It wasn't falling, it was balanced. I was playing against the people (doubles) who hit the shot and was of the opinion I could give it a tap with my racket and knock it over, it was the cork that was balanced on my side.
    In the end we simply retook the serve

  15. #15
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    NorCal, United States
    Posts
    884
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Actually, Lin Dan performed a shot similar to this in the 2008 Olympic Games. He purposely used the frame of his racket to do a net kill. It was shown in slow motion too and it was a legal shot. So technically you can hit that bird over the net without touching the net.

Similar Threads

  1. Accuracy when hitting shuttle?
    By KuroyamaAkihito in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 11
    : 07-05-2011, 05:28 AM
  2. LOOK (observe) & THINK before HITTING the shuttle
    By kmusalim in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 14
    : 08-28-2008, 12:48 PM
  3. Hitting the shuttle when receiving
    By ljq in forum Techniques / Training
    Replies: 1
    : 10-09-2002, 12:02 PM
  4. HITTING PPL WITH THE GODDAMN SHUTTLE
    By May in forum General Forum
    Replies: 20
    : 07-22-2001, 02:48 AM
  5. Shuttle hitting the roof
    By Birdie in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 7
    : 07-20-2001, 12:25 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •