Badminton shoes for volleyball

Discussion in 'Clothing & Footwear' started by Pasch, Dec 29, 2009.

1. Pasch

Pasch Regular Member

Student
    If anyone has any clue about volleyball shoes I could use some help. They are impossible to find in the part of the country where I live so I can't just go to a shop and try them on.

I play badminton for a while but recently started volleyballin' aswell. I've been using the Yonex SHB 99 MX for a few years and they are great for badminton.
    I do however feel they lack some cushioning for volleyball with the very frequent jumping. That combined with having achilles + hollow foot inflammation a while back and never recovered 100% from it.
    I've been using my normal running shoes instead (great Asics shoes) but needless to say the support is just terrible for sports involving quick movement.

So my question is; would getting a 'real' volleyball shoe help with my problems? Are their cushioning softer than Yonex badminton shoes? I'm primarily concerned about keeping my feet in a good shape and focusing less on the speed of my movement.
    I'm looking at some shoes in a shop 200 km away from my place (Asics Sensei 3 or some kind of Mizuno shoes).

2. dolbydog

dolbydog Regular Member

Hey Pasch, the shb 99 are very similiar to high end volleyball shoes for the Japanese home market. You can check out both the Mizuno.co.jp and Asics.co.jp. Back in the day, many of the top players even into the 1990's wore paper thin Asics Tiger Rotation model. For badminton, we would wear similiarly thin Dragonfly shoes. We had very few injuries, I think in part because we had very strong feet like the way a gymnast would because they didn't have shoes to support them. Now I wouldn't recommend these shoes for you because you aren't used to them and the advancement in shoe science.