User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 17 of 22
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Can you apply the overgrip as a replacement grip?

    Fellow players,

    i like my grip slim so that it fits my hand perfectly. i'm a G3

    however, i find a lot of replacement grip thick as hell

    i used to apply a nice Victor contour grip (replacement) on my MP 33, it's perfect, great feel, never slip thanks to the contour and it's perforated, which is really fantastic!

    over the year the grip has deteriorated, and recently i got a black knight grip which i thought was thin but it turned out very thick. this probably ruined my MP 33

    i noticed a lot of overgrip are actually quite thin

    has anyone ever used an overgrip as a replacement grip?

    thanks to any feedback

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    1,719
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    You can do it but the racket handle will feel much harder than if you used a replacement grip. This might not be a bad thing but I'm just warning you in case you have sensitive hands or arm trouble.

  3. #3
    Regular Member Mark A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    St Helens, UK
    Posts
    3,741
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I've done this in the past and I found it really started to hurt during longer games. I'm unlucky in that I like a narrow grip that's also soft, so I have to be very careful that I get a racket with a narrow grip size that's slightly too head heavy (so the soft replacement grip will bring the balance back to the right place).

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    alright mate
    thanks for the tips there like

    i reckon i can wrap it with some soft silk around it next time

    when i removed the victor contour grip from MP 33 the contour line was stuck on the wood, so i wrapped the new replacement black knight and it was huge

    i like my grip slim

    any slim replacement grip that you recommend?

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    67
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Erm...I am using G4 and G5 racquets. For G5, one overgrip with it's original grip is woeks fine for me.For my G4, I tend to rip out the original racquet to the core and put 2 overgrips - I am using Yonex overgrips, and that is the thinnest I can find.

    Just my 2 cents....

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    thanks

    wish our dealer here would store some G4 and G5

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Richmond, BC
    Posts
    5,209
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ronex09 View Post
    Fellow players,

    i like my grip slim so that it fits my hand perfectly. i'm a G3...
    If you like your grip slim, then why are you using a G3? It does seem like a contradiction

    Quote Originally Posted by ronex09 View Post
    thanks

    wish our dealer here would store some G4 and G5
    Actually, the authorized dealers here do have G3, G4 and G5 rackets. G4 being the most popular being sold in the world.

    For me, I use a G4 and put a Yonex Super grip on top and it fits great.
    Last edited by Matt; 10-09-2009 at 05:07 PM.

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    every racquet that i buy there's only a G3 left

    certainly i would prefer g4 or g5 if there is one

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Richmond, BC
    Posts
    5,209
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Ronex,

    Which stores are you shopping at? Since we are from sound the same area, G4 and G5 are easy to find. The local store go to has plenty.

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    long time ago i bought an isometric from a sportmart on west broadway when it was first opened, only g3

    when i was in victoria, i bought a mp 33 from courtside sports, mp 33 by then was an old model and the last one in the store, it was g3

    recently i bought a k lite from tad's sporting, i was told only g3

    anyway, i'm fine with g3 as along as the replacement grip doesn't make it thicker

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    101
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    chain stores are the worst, i cant describe how bad they are for looking for better equipment

    goto google and search "tads sporting goods" they pretty much have anything ur looking for

  12. #12
    Regular Member blindfury's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    615
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    i put replacement grip on top of overgrip... lol, it just feels right.

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Richmond, BC
    Posts
    5,209
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ronex09 View Post
    long time ago i bought an isometric from a sportmart on west broadway when it was first opened, only g3

    when i was in victoria, i bought a mp 33 from courtside sports, mp 33 by then was an old model and the last one in the store, it was g3

    recently i bought a k lite from tad's sporting, i was told only g3

    anyway, i'm fine with g3 as along as the replacement grip doesn't make it thicker
    Tads has pretty much what you are looking for looking for. I even go there myself. I see grip G3, G4, G5 of rackets in the shelf for Yonex rackets.

    The Wilson K-Factor only comes in a G3, which is why you were told it is only in this size therefore; there are some rackets which only come in certain grip size(s) and it is not because of the store, it is the manufacturer.
    Last edited by Matt; 10-12-2009 at 12:58 PM.

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New York, US
    Posts
    10,283
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Usually, 2 layers or even 3 layers of overgrips should still be thinner than most of the replacement grips.

  15. #15
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    12
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    thanks for the feedback everyone

    may i conclude that i can indeed use overgrip as a replacement grip?

    i will try this the next time i replace a grip

  16. #16
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Richmond, BC
    Posts
    5,209
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    You could but it changes the feel and balance of the racket. If you do not like that route or feel unconfortable using it like this, normally getting the racket with the correct grip sizes then overgripped it would typically suit the players.

  17. #17
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    www.badstrings.com
    Posts
    670
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Ok, there are a lot of different grips out there, so later this month with the help of dinkalot im going to put together a small visual tutorial. Here's a quickie for those of you here now:

    There are grips and there are over grips. Grips are usually put on against the wood, and over grips are usually laid on top of grips. You can put overgrips right on the wood and layer them if you like. Grips and overgrips come in different thicknesses so you cant compare them really. Grips are usually applied with a single layer and no overlapping where at overgrip is commonly over lapped. One tip dink shared with me is that if you are finding it hard to dial in on the right size, try laying down a single layer of overgrip that doesnt over lap but rather just touches edge to edge. Then go over this with some tape to hold it in place. Now wrap your grip on top of that and you can dial in properly. Usually I find overgrips are about 1.5mm thick, so if you do a single wrap w/overlap you are actually increasing the thickness 6mm and if you do not overlap its 3mm. Remember you are wrapping a layer on both sides. Hope this helps, pictures will be posted later down the road.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    : 09-13-2011, 04:39 AM
  2. replacement grip as overgrip
    By Avenger in forum Grip
    Replies: 2
    : 01-27-2011, 11:41 AM
  3. Overgrip on a Replacement Grip?
    By McGlee in forum Grip
    Replies: 3
    : 01-10-2011, 08:00 AM
  4. Overgrip vs Replacement Grip
    By violin_geek in forum Racket Recommendation / Comparison
    Replies: 17
    : 04-02-2009, 10:01 AM
  5. Replacement Grip w/ or w/o Overgrip
    By Qu3sT10nMaRk in forum Grip
    Replies: 2
    : 06-16-2007, 09:16 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •