User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 17 of 44
  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Markham
    Posts
    199
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default is this considered distracting?????

    Okay, sometimes when im filled with confidence/adrenaline and im about to give a powerful smash or something like that, i give a yell, and most of the time, it goes in, the last last last game i played, the guy i was playing with says i was cheating because it *distracted* him and he called a *redo*

    so is it considered making rude noises, distracting etc

  2. #2
    Regular Member chris-ccc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    26,237
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Arrow It shall be a fault

    Quote Originally Posted by ilostmybrain View Post

    Okay, sometimes when im filled with confidence/adrenaline and im about to give a powerful smash or something like that, i give a yell, and most of the time, it goes in, the last last last game i played, the guy i was playing with says i was cheating because it *distracted* him and he called a *redo*

    so is it considered making rude noises, distracting etc

    .
    Under Law 13.4.5 (Faults Laws):

    It shall be a fault if, in play, a player deliberately distracts an opponent by any action such as shouting or making gestures.
    .

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Campbell, California, United S
    Posts
    496
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    in other words no you're not doing anything wrong. its like grunting in tennis. If you're like screeching and then smashing maybe... lol

  4. #4
    Regular Member chris-ccc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    26,237
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Arrow If an opponent is distracted, it's a disadvantage to him/her

    Quote Originally Posted by canti View Post

    in other words no you're not doing anything wrong. its like grunting in tennis. If you're like screeching and then smashing maybe... lol

    .
    It is a fault. If an opponent is distracted, it's a disadvantage to him/her.
    It's clearly stated under Law 13.4.5 (Faults Laws):
    It shall be a fault if, in play, a player deliberately distracts an opponent by any action such as shouting or making gestures.

    It's just that many opponents do not complain.

    Even in Tennis, there is the hindrance rule. Here was what Martina Navratilova said:

    "I remember how it was when Monica (Seles) and I were competitors and she began to grunt."

    "I couldn't hear the ball. I thought to myself, 'Do I mention it to the umpire, do I say something to her? What should I do?' And Monica was a friend. I had to say something in the end."

    The grunting dispute with Seles began in 1992, with Navratilova complaining there was more to it than merely irritating the opposition.

    The sound made by the strings of a racquet striking the ball gives the skilled player an important clue about the speed and spin of the ball they are about to face. Drowning this sound out with a loud grunt denies that information to your adversary.

    "A player is in a difficult position because if they make too much of a fuss, the crowd can turn against them,” she said. “It is the umpires who have to act because if they start enforcing the hindrance rule and give point penalties, it will soon stop. The grunts are louder and lasting well into the opponent's strike zone."

    Source: http://www.news.com.au/world/tennis-...-1225721024611
    .
    Last edited by chris-ccc; 01-02-2010 at 05:02 AM.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    405
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Myself, I think coloured fonts are distracting ;-)

    Quote Originally Posted by chris-ccc View Post
    It is a fault. If an opponent is distracted, it's a disadvantage to him/her.
    It's clearly stated under Law 13.4.5 (Faults Laws):

    It shall be a fault if, in play, a player deliberately distracts an opponent by any action such as shouting or making gestures.
    I don't think it's so cut and dried. The key word here is "deliberately".

    Suppose that in a doubles match you shout "Yours!" to tell your partner to play the shot. Suppose the opponent says they found it distracting. You shouted, and that's forbidden by law 13.4.5, so they say. Does it count as a fault? I don't think so, because you weren't deliberately distracting them. Calling out to your partner is a normal part of the game, and your opponents just have to learn to deal with it.

    If you shout as the opponent is playing their shot, then it's hard to argue that you had any reason for shouting except to distract them. Therefore it probably should be a fault.

    If you shout while you're playing your own shot--it seems to me that there's a grey area here. You could claim that you're doing just what helps you play a good shot. You're not deliberately distracting anyone else. But really it's up to the umpire to judge whether they think you're deliberately trying to put the opponent off their game. I don't think it would be an easy decision to make.

    Personally I think it's a bit silly to be shouting all the time when you smash. But I think it's just silly, not illegal.

    (You could try to "set up" the opponent by shouting on all your smashes, then change your tactics and shout on a drop shot instead. That really would be distracting--I'd call that a fault! I think it makes a difference whether or not your behaviour is consistent.)

  6. #6
    Regular Member chris-ccc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    26,237
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Arrow Cheating because it is distracting

    Quote Originally Posted by alexh View Post

    I don't think it's so cut and dried. The key word here is "deliberately".

    Suppose that in a doubles match you shout "Yours!" to tell your partner to play the shot. Suppose the opponent says they found it distracting. You shouted, and that's forbidden by law 13.4.5, so they say. Does it count as a fault? I don't think so, because you weren't deliberately distracting them. Calling out to your partner is a normal part of the game, and your opponents just have to learn to deal with it.

    .
    We are going off-topic.

    ilostmybrain was asking:
    Quote Originally Posted by ilostmybrain View Post

    Okay, sometimes when im filled with confidence/adrenaline and im about to give a powerful smash or something like that, i give a yell, and most of the time, it goes in, the last last last game i played, the guy i was playing with says i was cheating because it *distracted* him and he called a *redo*

    so is it considered making rude noises, distracting etc?

    And the opponent is correct.
    .
    Last edited by chris-ccc; 01-02-2010 at 06:52 AM.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Markham
    Posts
    199
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tmMHx4YITgs

    what im sorta refering to is this vid, like what the guy does

  8. #8
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Posts
    1,534
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I disagree Chris, the rule is carefully worded to include "deliberately". Can a shout be distracting? Definitely! Is it deliberate? That's up to a judge/umpire to determine in a tournament. It's not something I would complain about in a social game, the only thing you get in winning is pride or social standing.

    If they had wanted to include any distracting noise that either player can make then they would not have worded the way they did. Take out "deliberately" and you're right, include it and you're in a grey area that should NOT matter in social play.

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    21
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It is your shot. I believe you can do what ever you want to help you want to help your shotmaking. By shouting it gives some people more focus and energy. But if they shout when opponant is about to hit than it is distracting. It is part of the game because a lot of it is mental and if you can intimidate your opponant with your powerful smash and shout adds to it. You might drop too instead of smashing next time you yell. It adds a lot more deception and it is part of the game. Just because your opponant doesn' t shout doesn' t mean you have to do it too. I seen the pros shout all the time when they hit a shot and the officials never ever call it as a fault.

    It is not a fault if the bird is on your side of the net.

  10. #10
    Regular Member chris-ccc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    26,237
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Arrow The word "Deliberately" is included in Law 13.4.5

    Quote Originally Posted by druss View Post

    I disagree Chris, the rule is carefully worded to include "deliberately". Can a shout be distracting? Definitely! Is it deliberate? That's up to a judge/umpire to determine in a tournament. It's not something I would complain about in a social game, the only thing you get in winning is pride or social standing.

    If they had wanted to include any distracting noise that either player can make then they would not have worded the way they did. Take out "deliberately" and you're right, include it and you're in a grey area that should NOT matter in social play.

    .
    Agree. The word "Deliberately" is included in Law 13.4.5.

    Our ilostmybrain says "im about to give a powerful smash or something like that, i give a yell".

    This can be distracting to his opponent. And his opponent can claim that ilostmybrain is deliberately distracting him/her, even though ilostmybrain wasn't meant to do so.
    .

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    TW, SG, HK
    Posts
    7,304
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    What about when you shout to reach a shuttle that appears to be out of reach. Is that considered a foul ? I don't see how making a noise on a shot is a foul. If making a noise to cover up a shots sound is a foul then what is deception ? Isn't that the same principle except you don't make a noise instead use your racket

  12. #12
    Regular Member chris-ccc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    26,237
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Arrow It's all about "fair play" for players on both side of the net

    Quote Originally Posted by LD rules! View Post

    What about when you shout to reach a shuttle that appears to be out of reach. Is that considered a foul ? I don't see how making a noise on a shot is a foul. If making a noise to cover up a shots sound is a foul then what is deception ? Isn't that the same principle except you don't make a noise instead use your racket.

    .
    That's different from the opening question asked in this thread.

    IMHO, if opponents are not distracted, it should be OK.
    It's all about "fair play" for players on both side of the net.

    In this thread, we have to keep this in mind: We are talking about 'distracting' shouting. We are not talking about all different types of shouting.
    .
    Last edited by chris-ccc; 01-03-2010 at 05:20 PM.

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    405
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chris-ccc View Post
    That's different from the opening question asked in this thread.

    IMHO, if opponents are not distracted, it should be OK.
    It's all about "fair play" for players on both side of the net.

    In this thread, we have to keep this in mind: We are talking about 'distracting' shouting. We are not talking about all different types of shouting.
    But that's the whole point: who's to judge what is distracting? If you automatically get a point every time you say "I found the opponent's behaviour distracting", then that is a recipe for chaos. Anything you name may or may not be distracting, depending on your point of view.

    That's why this word "deliberately" is so important. Person A does something, person B claims to be distracted. Whether or not B genuinely was distracted isn't the issue here. The umpire is supposed to judge whether A was trying to distract B. It's a subtle distinction, but I think it's important.

    To make sense of this, we need to consider a number of different situations and compare them, in order to see what is reasonable. Shouting "off-topic!" any time someone tries to put the issue in context only makes it harder to figure out what this rule means.

  14. #14
    Regular Member chris-ccc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    26,237
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Arrow ilostmybrain has distracted his opponent

    Quote Originally Posted by alexh View Post

    To make sense of this, we need to consider a number of different situations and compare them, in order to see what is reasonable. Shouting "off-topic!" any time someone tries to put the issue in context only makes it harder to figure out what this rule means.

    .
    IMHO, based on the opening post of this thread,
    Quote Originally Posted by ilostmybrain View Post

    Okay, sometimes when im filled with confidence/adrenaline and im about to give a powerful smash or something like that, i give a yell, and most of the time, it goes in, the last last last game i played, the guy i was playing with says i was cheating because it *distracted* him and he called a *redo*

    so is it considered making rude noises, distracting etc

    ilostmybrain has distracted his opponent.

    We can create different threads for different situations about shouting/distraction.
    .
    Last edited by chris-ccc; 01-03-2010 at 06:25 PM.

  15. #15
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Burnaby, BC, Canada
    Posts
    3,511
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I think that's just another way of putting off your opponent psychologically, ie.. like questioning his serve. Smashing while shouting is normal since a smash is physically exhausting, badminton can be pretty noisy at times even though I am sure you can find players who don't yell while they play a stroke. It would be delibrate distraction when the shuttle is not even in your court and you shouted something that would delibrately confuse your opponents while they play a shot. I doubt umpires would apply Law 13.4.5 liberally.

  16. #16
    Regular Member chris-ccc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    26,237
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Arrow Talking about noise that could cause distraction to opponents

    Quote Originally Posted by cappy75 View Post

    I think that's just another way of putting off your opponent psychologically, ie.. like questioning his serve. Smashing while shouting is normal since a smash is physically exhausting, badminton can be pretty noisy at times even though I am sure you can find players who don't yell while they play a stroke. It would be delibrate distraction when the shuttle is not even in your court and you shouted something that would delibrately confuse your opponents while they play a shot. I doubt umpires would apply Law 13.4.5 liberally.

    .
    Correct. In this thread we are talking about noise that could cause distraction to opponents.

    We are not talking about;
    * Yelling - to add more power into a shot
    * Yelling - to communicate with partners in a game of Doubles
    * Yelling - when under tremendous stress to reach the shuttlecock
    * Yelling - when in agony or pain
    * etc, etc, ...
    .

  17. #17
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Markham
    Posts
    199
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chris-ccc View Post
    .
    Correct. In this thread we are talking about noise that could cause distraction to opponents.

    We are not talking about;
    * Yelling - to add more power into a shot
    * Yelling - to communicate with partners in a game of Doubles
    * Yelling - when under tremendous stress to reach the shuttlecock
    * Yelling - when in agony or pain
    * etc, etc, ...
    .
    actually, i forgot to say that i was yelled to put more power into the shot but the guy said i was distracting him

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. WTB: WTB: Carlton IsoBlade Pro (UK/ Int'L considered)
    By ice_dragon in forum Buy & Sell - Read the rules sticky before you post
    Replies: 0
    : 08-07-2011, 07:07 AM
  2. distracting sound by opponent when shuttle appears to going out
    By dunmaster in forum Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating
    Replies: 13
    : 01-03-2010, 11:31 PM
  3. When is a shuttle considered spent?
    By Tweak in forum Shuttlecock
    Replies: 9
    : 10-06-2006, 10:54 AM
  4. MP-100 considered Retired? MP-44 Question!
    By Midget_Boy in forum Badminton Rackets / Equipment
    Replies: 6
    : 10-22-2004, 08:11 PM
  5. Is this considered as collector's item ?
    By bluejeff in forum Badminton Rackets / Equipment
    Replies: 3
    : 07-07-2004, 02:46 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •