Taming the beast: an Arcsabre Z story...

Discussion in 'Badminton Rackets / Equipment' started by Ayabrea, Jan 12, 2010.

1. Ayabrea

Ayabrea Regular Member

A little bit about me, I have been playing badminton for about 14 months, averaging roughly 5 times a week. I started out with a Wilson Head Light K factor racquet. My smashes weren't strong, so I bought the AZ specifically to learn to smash properly because it was an unforgiving racquet. I figure that it would eventually force me to learn a proper smashing technique. Around the same time, I also purchased the Nanospeed 9900 and the Armortec 900 P/T. The store owner found it amusing that I was going to use so many different racquets because usually players stick to only one racquet and buy multiple copies of the same one.
    Anyways, I ran into the same frustrating experience as all of the other AZ owners and eventually gave up on it after 3 weeks because I couldn't figure out how to get better with it. I started using the AP and found it to be much easy to smash with, almost to the point where the racquet would guide the racquet correct. I think it must be because the racquet was aerodynamically designed that way. The smashes were also stronger and more consistent. I also used the NS too because, like my original racquet, it was head light. I ended up switching back and forth between the AP and the NS in between games and didn't even use the AZ until about a month later.
    The month of constantly switching back and forth between the AP and the NS strangely did the trick as I was able to smash powerfully and consistently with the AZ the instant I started using it. I had never guessed that constantly using different racquets would be beneficial like this. Anyone have a similar experience?

Ayabrea

2. fm1fm2

fm1fm2 Regular Member

student
    the only reason i can think of is the improvement in your skill.